Ask A Trooper: Do you need a permit to move a used dock?

Published 5:11 pm Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Question: I bought a used boat dock; do I need a permit to get it to my lake house?

Answer: You can move a boat dock on Minnesota roads without a permit if the dock is no wider than 8 feet, 6 inches, no higher than 13 feet, 6 inches and no longer than 110 feet. The move must be done during day time hours.

Email newsletter signup

The rear corners must be flagged with 18-inch squared red or orange flags. The dock sides will have to be flagged as well every 20 feet. If your dock is larger, then you need to contact Minnesota permit at 651-296-3000.

You can avoid a ticket — and a crash — if you simply buckle up, drive at safe speeds, pay attention and always drive sober. Help us drive Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths. If you have any questions concerning traffic related laws or issues in Minnesota send your questions to Sgt. Troy Christianson – Minnesota State Patrol at 2900 48th Street NW, Rochester MN 55901-5848. (Or reach him at,