Mower County Historical Society holds annual meeting

Published 5:30 pm Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Mower County Historical Society held its annual meeting on Thursday, March 21 in the Pioneer Building on the grounds of the Mower County Historical Society.

Highlights at the annual meeting included:

• Election of Trustees to the MCHS Board of Directors: Lee Bjorndal, Terry Placek, and Paul Spyhalski were newly elected to serve a three-year term. Marsha Kuehne was also elected to serve a second term.

Email newsletter signup

• Volunteer awards and recognition: Wendy Larson was honored as Outstanding Volunteer of the Year. Dennis Tamke and Barbara K. Lewis were honored with Distinguished Service Awards as retiring members of the MCHS Board of Directors.

After the business meeting, the MCHS officially unveiled the original painting “The Grand Meadow Chert Quarry – Wahni Yukan ca: 1050AD” by Art Kenyon from Red Wing. Those attending had the opportunity to meet the artist and hear him talk about his process for creating this original piece of art. Tom Trow, MCHS consulting archaeologist also explained how the painting will be incorporated into the interpretive plan at the quarry site in Grand Meadow.

“It is so exciting to finally share this original artwork with our members,” said Randal J. Forster, MCHS executive director. “Everyone is welcome to stop by the museum, see the painting, and learn more about how indigenous people once gathered chert near Grand Meadow over 1,000 years ago.”