• 37°

Luther College announces Steven Mark Anderson Scholarship winners

Six Luther College students have each received a $1,000 Steven Mark Anderson Scholarship for the 2020–21 academic year, including Ochain Okey from Austin.

The other recipients include Isabel de la Cruz Hexom, Trina Elsinger, Samantha Feucht-Vandemore, Abigail Miller and Thuan Tran.

Ochain Okey

The Steven Mark Anderson Scholarship was established in 2001 by Lloyd and Kathy Anderson of Ames, Iowa, in memory of their son, Pastor Steven Mark Anderson, who graduated from Luther in 1985.

The scholarship benefits Luther College students involved in the TRIO Achievement Program. TRIO provides customized support and comprehensive programming that promotes student academic success, personal development and sense of community. The federally funded program has been sponsored by Luther for nearly 50 years and serves approximately 180 students annually.

Okey is a sophomore from Austin, Minnesota. He is majoring in biology with a minor in chemistry. His campus memberships include Habitat for Humanity, Black Student Union (BSU), Norse Against Sexual Assault (NASA), Chemistry Club and Health Science Club. In addition, he is active musically, having played his bassoon in Wind and Percussion Ensemble, Philharmonia, and Concert Band.

He received the Outstanding First Year Student Award in 2019 from the TRIO program. Following his 2022 Luther College graduation, Okey plans to earn a doctor of pharmacy and master of public health degrees. In preparation, he completed the Summer Health Professions Education Program (SHPEP) at the University of Iowa and has been accepted to the Life Sciences Summer Undergraduate Research Program at the University of Minnesota.