Packer wrestlers knocked out of state contention, Westfield sends two to state and GMLOS still in the hunt

Published 4:58 pm Friday, February 21, 2020

The Austin wrestling team will not be sending any wrestlers advancing to state this season as the Packers didn’t advance any wrestlers to the semifinals on the first day of the Section 1AAA individual meet in Mayo Civic Center Friday.
The GMLOS wrestling team sent 10 wrestlers to the Section 1A semifinals in Mayo Civic Center Friday.
Advancing to the semifinals for GMLOS are Anthony Romero, Cohen Wiste, James Jacobsen, Lucas Winfield, Donavan Felten, Rece Voigt, Christian Jacobsen, Daniel Smith, Noah Sayles, and Cameron Sneed.
Romero pinned Kyle Daniels of FCLMC in the first period of the 106-pound quarterfinals, Wiste pinned Bolton Thesing of DE in the 113 quarterfinals, James Jacobsen received two byes at 120, Winfield pinned Ryan Kelly of FCLMC in the 132 quarterfinals, Felten pinned Brady Koeppel of St. Charles in the 138 quarterfinals, Voigt beat Colby Dobbs of Triton 5-1 in the 145 quarterfinals, Christian Jacobsen pinned Tanner Manoilman of ZM in the 152 quarterfinals, Daniel Smith pinned Aiden Goetzinger of Caledonia/Houston in the 160 quarterfinals, Sayles pinned Collin Myer of Goodhue in the 170 quarterfinals and Sneed received two byes at 195 pounds.

The Westfield Razorbacks advanced Colton Krell and Dylan Nirk to the state meet at the Section 2A meet in Blue Earth.

Krell took first place at 195 and Nirk took first at 285.

Email newsletter signup