Austin Area Knights of Columbus sponsor poster and essay contest

Published 6:15 am Friday, February 7, 2020

By Jean McDermott
Pacelli President/Principal

Representatives from the Austin Area Knights of Columbus Council 1201 awarded certificates and prizes to elementary, middle and high school students who were finalists in the local Keep Christ in Christmas poster contest and citizenship essay contest. Students were recognized after the all school Mass celebrated during Catholic Schools Week at Pacelli Catholic School.

The goal of the Knights of Columbus essay contest is to give students the opportunity to define the role of a Catholic citizen in many different scenarios and to strengthen the bond between the Knights of Columbus, the Catholic community and Pacelli Catholic Schools.

Knights of Columbus representatives Ryan Bickler and Neil Drees recognize winners of the Citizenship essay contest.

Email newsletter signup

Senior Rory Bickler placed first in the high school essay contest and received $50. Eighth-graders Andrew Frederick (first place) and Avari Drennan (second place) were awarded $50 and $30, respectively, for their winning middle school essays.

The Keep Christ in Christmas poster contest was open to all boys and girls ages 5 – 14.  The students developed original posters and slogans to help remind us that Christmas is a celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ. First ($30), second ($20), and third ($10) place were awarded in three age brackets to the following students: Age 5-7; Nataly Gomez Munoz (first), Aubrey Roehl (second), Diego Ortiz Reyes (third): Age 8-10; Kiara Hernandez (first), Kaitlyn McMahon (second), Marlie Klankowski (third): Age 11-14; Lydia Dress (first), Coral Alfaro Hernandez (second), Atem Achuoth (third).

Each of these contests were conducted at the local level with the first place entries advancing to a district competition. There is opportunity to continue to state, national and international levels of recognition. Congratulations to all participants and good luck to our district finalists.