PDAs scheduled for additional 24 counties, 3 tribal nations

Published 9:11 am Saturday, May 11, 2019

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) division will join the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and local emergency managers in additional preliminary damage assessments (PDAs) starting Monday, May 13.

PDAs took place in 24 counties and one tribal nation this week. Teams are documenting eligible damages to public property and infrastructure after widespread flooding and severe weather in March and April. The total of eligible damages will be released once the PDA process is complete and Gov. Tim Walz requests a major disaster declaration.

HSEM and FEMA have finalized the schedule for the second week of PDAs, which will conclude on Friday, May 17.

Email newsletter signup

• Monday, May 13: Faribault County, Freeborn County and Houston County

• Tuesday, May 14: Blue Earth County, Marshall County, Mower County, Norman County, Waseca County and Winona County

• Wednesday, May 15: Kittson County, Red Lake County, Red Lake Nation, Steele County, Wabasha County and Watonwan County

• Thursday, May 16: Clay County, Goodhue County, Nicollet County, Polk County, Prairie Island Indian Community and Washington County

• Friday, May 17: Mahnomen County, Olmsted County, Scott County and the White Earth Nation

PDAs for Dodge and Fillmore counties will take place in a different jurisdiction. Virtual PDAs will be held in Le Sueur and Pennington counties.