State educators recognized with awards for excellence

Published 8:00 am Thursday, April 18, 2019

The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities has recognized seven individuals with the 2019 Board of Trustees Professional Excellence in University Service Award.

Among those honored is Riverland Community College accounting instructor Kimberly Hansen.

Kimberly Hansen

“Ms. Hansen has served Riverland for 32 years as an unlimited full-time accounting faculty member,” said Adenuga Atewologun, president of Riverland Community College, through a press release. “She is a dynamic, creative, and collaborative instructor. Ms. Hansen demonstrates an esteemed commitment to life-long learning and the teaching profession. Her investment in students reflects the needs and purpose of all students, emphasizing ‘learning by discovery’ and use of current technologies that ensures student success. I am extremely proud of the positive connections she has made with her students. Kim’s approach to teaching and assessment reflects the needs and style of the student. She is committed to every student’s success; her dedication ensures that they will not only learn but excel.”

Email newsletter signup

These awards are conferred annually to college and university teaching faculty and university administrative service faculty to acknowledge and provide system wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence.

This award is an honor bestowed upon university service faculty to acknowledge and reward exceptional individual professional accomplishment, and to encourage ongoing excellence in the key roles that service faculty fulfill at our seven state universities. These roles include advising and counseling students, the recruitment, retention, and placement of students, residential life programming, and facilitation of student groups and student leadership.