Walz appointed to President’s Council of Governors

Published 9:07 am Saturday, February 23, 2019

ST. PAUL– Gov. Tim Walz announced his appointment to the Council of Governors by the President of the United States on Friday.

The Council, which consists of 10 bipartisan governors, is responsible for advising the Secretary of Defense, Secretary of Homeland Security, and the White House Homeland Security Council on matters related to the National Guard and civil support missions.

Gov. Tim Walz

Walz served in the Army National Guard for 24 years, achieving the rank of Command Sergeant Major. He was the highest-ranking enlisted service member ever to serve in Congress.

Email newsletter signup

“I am honored to work with this bipartisan group of governors to strengthen the state-federal partnership on homeland security and protect our country against danger,” Walz said in a press release. “As a 24-year veteran of the Army National Guard, I will be a strong voice at the table for Minnesotans and will work tirelessly to improve our national defense.”

The Council Governors consists of 10 governors, not to exceed five from each party, appointed by the President for a two-year term, which can be extended at the discretion of the President. Gov. Mark Dayton served on the Council of Governors from 2015 to 2019.

In addition to the governors, federal participants include the secretaries of defense and homeland security, the President’s homeland security and counterterrorism advisors, the commander of U.S. Northern Command, the commandant of the Coast Guard and the chief of the National Guard Bureau.

While not designated as official members of the Council, other key federal officials such as the Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are also regular participants.

The Council members include:

  • Gov. Asa Hutchinson (R-AR) (Co-Chair)
  • Gov. David Ige (D-HI) (Co-Chair)
  • Gov. Doug Ducey (R-AZ)
  • Gov. Ned Lamont (D-CT)
  • Gov. J.B. Pritzker (D-IL)
  • Gov. Tim Walz (DFL-MN)
  • Gov. Mike Parson (R-MO)
  • Gov. Steve Bullock (D-MT)
  • Gov. Pete Ricketts (R-NE)
  • Gov. Mike DeWine (R-OH)