Mower County 4-H holds annual recognition banquet

Published 7:01 am Saturday, November 3, 2018

Mower County 4-H held its annual recognition banquet on Monday, Oct. 29, at Sacred Heart Church in Adams.

Spirit of 4-H Award: Emily Allas, Piper Kellner.

More than 235 people were in attendance to celebrate the achievements and contributions by Mower County 4-H members and volunteers.

4-H members and advisory council officers Sarah Hecimovich and Abigail Mueller served as emcees for the evening. Mueller gave an invocation and guests enjoyed a Swiss steak meal prepared by the Sacred Heart Church members. Following the meal, awards were distributed.

I Dare You Award: Ryan VanPelt, Megan Silbaugh.

Email newsletter signup


Honorary Leaders: Bob Balgeman, Mary Lunning.

Members received ribbons for record completion, trophies for general project champions at the 2018 Mower County Fair, and trophies for first time exhibitors in each livestock species.

4-H’ers were recognized for their participation in project bowl teams and livestock judging. The first year members in the shooting sports program were given medals. Clubs were also recognized for herdsmanship and their work at the 4-H Food Stand.

Electrification Awards: Award Presenter, Frank Fryer of Freeborn-Mower Cooperative, Cassidy Shute, VanPelt.


1st Year Dairy Exhibitors: Isabel Beck, Hannah Case, Emma Case, Abigail Mueller. Photos provided

The evening ended with a year in review slide show prepared by Ryan VanPelt, Danielle Hatten and Megan Silbaugh.

4-H is a youth development program of the University of Minnesota Extension.  4-H’ers participate in hands-on learning experiences in STEM, citizenship & leadership, animal science, creative arts and much more.