DPS launching extra DWI, speeding enforcement period

Published 7:20 am Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Law enforcement throughout the state will be on the lookout for intoxicated over the holiday as July 4 is traditionally one of the worst holidays for drunk driving, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety announced on Monday.

On average, 471 drivers will be arrested for DWI and eight motorists will be seriously injured in an alcohol-related crash. Minnesota law enforcement arrested an average of 3.9 drunk drivers an hour on July 4 from 2013-17.

“With so many ride-share programs available, it’s frustrating to know many people continue to get behind the wheel after drinking,” said Minnesota State Patrol Lt. Tiffani Nielson in a press release. “A DWI can change your life forever. Whether it’s financially or carrying the burden of taking a life, it’s not worth it. Line up a sober driver and celebrate the holiday responsibly.”

Email newsletter signup

The MNDPS also announced on Monday that over 300 law enforcement agencies throughout the state will participate in an extra speed enforcement period from July 6-22.

According to the MNDPS, speeding played a role in 23 traffic fatalities that occurred between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

“On a daily basis, I receive fatality reports across Minnesota, and it’s amazing to me the high rate of speeds involved in fatal crashes,” said Mike Hanson, Office of Traffic Safety director. “The faster you go, the harder it is to stop for an unforeseen obstacle in the road or a car that stops unexpectedly. Driving faster won’t get you to your destination that much quicker, so sit back, slow down and enjoy the drive.”

Cost of a speeding violation varies by county, but typically costs more than $110 for court fees for travelling 10 miles per hour over the speed limit. Fines double for those travelling 20 miles per hour over the limit while speeds exceeding 100 miles per hour can result in a six-month loss of your license.