Incumbents unseated in township elections

Published 8:25 am Friday, March 16, 2018

Two townships will welcome new faces following Tuesday’s township elections.

The Mower County Auditor/Treasurer’s office reported that in Lansing Township Steve Torgerson won a three-year seat over incumbent Dan Vermilyea, 80-59; and Mark Ratigan earned a one-year spot over incumbent Steve Persinger, 80-59. Gary Braaten, who was running unopposed, was elected with 112 votes.

In Austin Township, Alec Frank and Clinton Hertle were both returned to their posts with five votes each.

Email newsletter signup

Specific votes were not available for the rest of the townships holding their elections in March. Four of the county’s townships hold their elections in November.