Austin, Southland teams to compete at state robotics tournament in St. Cloud

Published 7:41 am Friday, February 2, 2018

Austin and Southland schools will be well-represented at the state Vex Robotics Tournament today and tomorrow at the River’s Edge Convention Center in St. Cloud.

The teams earned the advancement after taking top honors at qualifying meets, including the Austin-based meet.

The theme for the middle and high school robotics competition is “In the Zone.” The contests are held on fields with two opposing alliances, comprised of two teams each. The challenge is to use the team-created robot to attain a higher score than the opposing alliance by stacking cones on goals, by scoring mobile goals in goal zones, by having the highest stacks, and by parking robots.

I. J. Holton Engineers B, also headed to state today for the Vex Robotics contest in St. Cloud, from left to right, back, Namo Afanou,  Kylie Davis, Kirin Opstad, Ana Alabin, and Saraya Donavan, front, Blake VanPelt, Daniel Grush, and Abby VanPelt. Not pictured is Ashlyn Blust.

Teams headed to state

Email newsletter signup

Middle School

• I. J. Holton Intermediate School (Austin) Engineers A and I. J. Holton Engineers B, coached by Kaylene Jensen

• Ellis Middle School (Austin) Engineers A, and Ellis Engineers B, coached by Tom Fritz

•Southland Mechbots, Southland Roverbots and Southland Borderbots, coached by Paula Mortenson.

High school

• Imperial George, Austin Area Independent Robotics (home school).

Ellis Engineers B, from left to right, back, Brandon Carlson, Ryan VanPelt, Karsten Ansorge, and Andrew Keenan; front, Nate Rezny, Tommy Fritz.

Ellis Engineers A members, from left, are Owen Carroll, Aluel Deng, Joe Garry, Emma Haugen, Thomas Herrick, Emily Hjelman, Toby Holtz and Jack Lang.

Southland Roverbots members, from left, are Macaih Miller, Cash Day, Jack Bruggeman, and Drew Maty. Not pictured is Jessie Hanson.

Southland Mechbots members, from left, are Trent Canter-bury, Cody Krull (back) Erik Shaw and Roman Carillo-Olson.

Southland Borderbots members, from left, are Luka Young, Julia Kiefer, Brad Lagerstedt, Riley Walerak and Gavin Nelsen.