Mower County 4-H celebrates at recognition banquet

Published 8:00 pm Saturday, November 25, 2017

Mower County 4-H members and volunteers celebrated the year’s accomplishments last week at their annual recognition banquet at Sacred Heart Church in Adams. More than 200 people attended.

Advisory council officers and 4-H members, Michael Carroll and Abigail Mueller served as emcees for the evening. An invocation was given by Isabel Beck. Sacred Heart Church members prepared a pork loin meal, after which awards were distributed.

Members received ribbons for record completion, trophies for general project champions at the 2017 Mower County fair and trophies for first time exhibitors in each livestock species.

Email newsletter signup

Also 4-Hers were recognized for their participation in project bowl teams and livestock judging. The first-year members in the shooting sports program were given medals. Clubs were also recognized for herdsmanship and their work at the 4-H Food Stand.

“It was a great night filled with well-deserved awards and many smiles,” said April Johnson, Mower County program coordinator said in a news release.

The evening ended with a year in review slide show prepared by Isabel Beck, Faith Sayles and Megan Silbaugh.

4-H is a youth development program of the University of Minnesota Extension available for youth grades Kindergarten to one year after high school, 4-H’ers participate in hands-on learning experiences


4-H Records –  Neat and Complete Awards:

Gloria Hansen and Lydia Drees

  • Jr. Neat and Complete (Grades 3-8):  Lydia Drees, Anna Welsh and Gloria Hansen

Abigail Muller and Victoria Hansen

  • Sr. Neat and Complete (Grades 9+):  Abigail Muller, Dylan Lunning  and Victoria Hansen

4-H Scholarship: Danielle Jax. Sponsored by Mower County 4-H

Shears Award Knowledge Gained through Clothing project: Samantha Feine, Sponsored by Belles & Beaus Bridal & Formal Wear, presented by Marie Fryer.

Kylie Stafford and Brianna Klouse

First Time Demonstration Awards: Kylie Stafford and Brianna Klouse, Sponsored by the Family of Genevieve Ulwelling in her memory. Presented by Shelia Hemann.

Environmental Education and Economic Awareness: champion Cassidy Shute, reserve champions Gloria Hansen and Megan Silbaugh, Sponsored by  Darrell Ingvaldson on behalf  of Farm Bureau Financial Services. Presented by Darrell Ingvaldson

Food Review Exhibitor Award – Top exhibit using dairy products: Hannah Hecimovich. Sponsored by Mower County American Dairy Association. Presented by Gene Anderson

Andrew Sayles and Ryan VanPelt

Electrification Awards: Ryan VanPelt and Andrew Sayles. Sponsored by Freeborn-Mower Cooperative Services. Presented by Frank Fryer

Grace Bergstrom and Owen Carroll

Marlys Larick Memorial Awards:

  • Champion Clothes You Make: Samantha Feine
  • • Champion Overall Ewe: Grace Bergstrom
  • • Champion Overall Wether: Owen Carroll
  • • Champion Market Barrow: Ashlyn Reuter
  • • Champion Breeding Gilt: Ryan Risius
  • •Champion Jersey Exhibitor: Danielle Jax

Outstanding Lama Project Member Award: Kylie Stafford. Sponsored by AdDe’s Humming Llamas. Presented by Julie Hendrikson

Abby VanPelt

Deb Schammel Grow Green Award: Abby VanPelt. Sponsored by the Schammel Family in Memory of Deb Schammel

Isaac Drees and Ella Thome

I Dare You Award: Isaac Drees and Ella Thome. Sponsored by Mower County 4-H, chosen by 4- H Advisory Board and Club Leaders

Harlow Sayles Memorial Award: Danielle Jax. Sponsored by the Harlow Sayles Family. Presented by Sheldon Sayles

Jodi and Bob VanPelt

Honorary Leaders: Bob and Jodi VanPelt

Challenge Project Winners: Faith Sayles and Andrew Sayles

Outstanding Long Time Dairy Exhibitors Award: Danielle Jax and Julia Mullenbach. Sponsored by Mower County Dairy Association. Presented by Gene Anderson

Friends of 4-H:

  • Business: Absolute Energy

Eugene Anderson

  • Individual: Eugene Anderson

Silver Clover Awards – 5 Yr. Volunteer: Christina Allegree, Shelia Hemann, Alexandra Mullenbach, Christina Swanek

Pearl Clover Award – 15 Yr. Volunteer: Dawn Mueller

Diamond Clover Award – 20 Yr. Volunteers: Laurie Zoecklein

Receiving Top Ambassadors awards at the Mower County 4-H recognition banquet were, pictured from left, Isabel Beck, Abigail Mueller and Rachel Meany.

2017 Top Ambassador Awards: Isabel Beck, Abigail Mueller, Rachel Meany

Key Award Winners: Isabel Beck, Abigail Mueller, Michael Carroll, Sponsored and presented by: Jerry and Diane Sampson.

Katie VanPelt

Agnes Haney Waters Beginner Sheep Scholarship: Katie VanPelt. Sponsored by the Agnes Haney Waters Family. Presented  by Dedee Bergstrom and Judy Renwick

Tony Burke Memorial Outstanding 4-H Swine Exhibitor Award: Michael Carroll. Sponsored by Gary and Elaine Braaten, Ella Marie Lausen, Rick and Janice Miller, Gary and Jane Thome, Larry and Bettie Miller, Dan and Joyce Vermilyea, Myron Dammann Linda and Butch Lerum, Ernest and Sandy Halbach, Austin FFA Alumni, Janet Siewert, and Hormel Foods.

Rachel Meany

Grass, Lunning, Nelson Outstanding Livestock Exhibitor Award: Rachel Meany. Sponsored by Richard and Bonnie Grass and John and Sharon Grass. Presented by Becky Grass