Education Briefs

Published 9:48 am Saturday, July 29, 2017

University of Northwestern – St. Paul

The following students were named to the spring 2017 semester Dean’s List at University of Northwestern – St. Paul.

Austin — Bailee Brooks, with High Honors; Abigail Jewett, with Highest Honors; and Riley Meyer, with Honors.

North Iowa Area Community College, Mason City, Iowa

The following students were named to the President’s List at the North Iowa Area Community College for the spring quarter.

Email newsletter signup

Adams — Christopher Gerard Quale.

Lyle — Gordon Royston Culley.

Bemidji State University

Maggie Leif from Austin earned Dean’s List honors from Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Minn., at the conclusion of the spring 2017 semester.

Minnesota State Mankato

The Academic High Honor and Honor lists (Dean’s lists) for the past spring semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced.

The High Honor List is attained by achieving a 4.0 straight “A” average, while 2,286 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List.

Adams — Eric Gerber, Senior, Honor List, Computer Information Technology.

Austin — Rainier Bergstrom Conley, Junior, Honor List, Geographic Information Science; Megan Fleiner, Junior, Honor List, Dance; Cristian Gonzalez, Senior, Honor List, Computer Information Technology; Olivia Hunt, Junior, Honor List, Mass Media; Kayla Jacobsen, Sophomore, Honor List, Social Work; Autumn Laury, Senior, Honor List, Psychology and Spanish; Gabrielle Wagner, Senior, Honor List, Elementary Education.

Brownsdale — Katelyn Pike, Senior, Honor List, Nursing

Dexter — Chessa Goergen, Junior, Honor List, Psychology; Heather Johnson, Junior, Honor List, Elementary Education.

Grand Meadow — Reid Buschmann, Sophomore, Honor List, Accounting; and Dylan Jech, Junior, Honor List, Computer Information Technology.

Lyle — BreeAnna Strouf, Senior, Honor List, Community Health Education; and Courtney Walter, Senior, Honor List, Psychology.

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

The following students have been named to the 2017 spring semester Dean’s List at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities.

Austin — Clyde Carver, Senior, Carlson School of Management; Elizabeth Ettinger, Sophomore, College of Liberal Arts; Easton Green, Junior, College of Liberal Arts; Ryan Mentz, Senior, College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Science; Owen Nelson, Junior, College of Science and Engineering; Laura Siegfreid, Senior, College of Design; Valentina Truong-Ferreira, Sophomore, Carlson School of Management,

Grand Meadow — Rachel Oehlke, Junior, College of Liberal Arts.

Racine — Donovan Laganiere, Junior, College of Liberal Arts.

University of Wisconsin-Madison

More than 7,000 students received degrees during the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s spring commencement ceremonies. Thomas Olmsted of Austin earned a bachelor’s degree in neurobiology, in the College of Letters and Science.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

To help support students at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire in expanding their horizons, 50 scholarships have been awarded for international travel during the summer and fall of 2017.

Anna Bachmeier of Austin earned a scholarship to allow her to study nursing and healthcare in Costa Rica.

The UW-Eau Claire Foundation awards study abroad scholarships ranging from $250-$1,000 each semester. Applicants must be degree-seeking UW-Eau Claire students who have been accepted into the study abroad program.

University of Wisconsin-Stout

The following students from the area graduated in May 2017 from University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie, Wis.

Austin — Jerome Green, bachelor degrees in business administration, and in hotel restaurant and tourism; Sarah Studley, a bachelor’s degree in dietetics.

Rose Creek — Melissa Holdgrafer, M.S.E.D., school psychology.