Dance recitals are this weekend at AHS; Jane Taylor Academy to perform Saturday

Published 8:18 am Thursday, June 1, 2017

Students at the Jane Taylor Academy of Dance are closing a busy season.

The Jane Taylor Academy of Dance will hold its 53rd annual recital at 7 p.m. Saturday at the Austin’s High School Knowlton Auditorium. Tickets are $8 and will be sold at the door. All proceeds from the flower sale will be donated to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Jane Taylor Academy of Dance. Pictured are the pointe routine dancers. Photo provided

This past season, the Jane Taylor dancers competed at competitions and were awarded first, third, fifth, eighth and ninth place high score overall in their Ddivisions in the following:

Email newsletter signup

•Joseph and Levi Seeman were awarded first overall at Ovation, first overall at Legacy and first overall at Starpower dance competitions;

• Dorothy Stevens got third overall at Trilogy dance competition;

•The Performing Company lyrical received fifth overall at Legacy dance competition;

•Levi Seeman and Aidan Eastlee received eighth overall at Ovation dance competition;

•Jordan Harmon won  eighth overall at Ovation dance competition;

• Senior Company Jazz won ninth overall; and

• Senior and Junior Company Tap won Best Costume at Ovation dance competition.

Jane Taylor Academy of Dance. Pictured are the “Rhythm Nation” dancers. Photo provided

In addition, the dancers were awarded three platinum awards and 19 high gold awards. Starpower scored on a scale of five stars, the Jane Taylor Academy of Dance dancers were awarded the following: one routine had five stars, seven routines scored four and three-fourths stars, two routines scored four and a half stars. Trilogy Dance Competition scored on four stars and the following students were awarded the following:  Dorothy Stevens, three stars, and Aidan Eastlee, three stars.

Students competing were: Aidan Eastlee, Autumn Engesser, Jordan Harmon, Dorothy Stevens, Emily Conroy, Joseph Seeman, Levi Seeman, Siri Ansorge, Lauren Riskedahl, Kaitlyn Riskedahl, Ashley Augustin, Sydney Risius, Emily Augustin, Rachel Engelstad, Emma Haugen, Bianca Herrera, Molly Berglund, Megan Dilley-Jones, Nathan Seeman and Christi Tate.