Danielle Jax crowned Mower Dairy Princess

Published 8:06 am Thursday, May 4, 2017

Danielle Jax of Waltham was crowned 2017 Mower County dairy princess at the 64th annual Dairy Princess Banquet on April 21 at the Sacred Heart Auditorium in Adams.

Nearly 200 guests attended the celebration.

Jax is the daughter of Doug and Becky Jax. Shewas sponsored by Sargeant Grain.

Email newsletter signup

The following five young women were named Mower County Dairy Ambassadors:

•Abby Rossow of Dexter, daughter of Mike and Vicki Rossow, sponsored by AMPI;

•Rachel Kloeckner of Adams, daughter of John and Barb Kloeckner, sponsored by Four Way Dairy Inc.;

•Cassidy Reinartz of Adams, daughter of Steve and Darcey Reinartz, sponsored by Northern Country Coop;

•Julia Mullenbach of Rose Creek, daughter of Al and Lynette Mullenbach, sponsored by Read’s Brown Swiss;  and

•Morgan Beckmann of Rose Creek, daughter of Stacia and Travis Pudenz, sponsored by Smith Family Farms.

The candidates were presented with Austin Chamber Bucks by Darrell Ingvaldson, representing the Austin Chamber of Commerce.

Two girls were named 2017 Mower County Milkmaids. The milkmaids are Amy Smith of Adams, daughter of Andy and Angie Smith, sponsored by Mayer Milk Hauling and Smith Family Farms; and Lauren Irvin of Rose Creek, daughter of Jason and Karen Irvin, sponsored by Jake’s Petroleum, L/C.

The banquet began with a dairy social hour allowing guests to meet the current dairy royalty and the 2017 candidates. During the social hour, the royalty and candidates served samples of dairy products. Guests could also view live and silent scholarship auction items before the start of the banquet.

2016 Mower County Dairy Princess and Princess Kay of the Milky Way finalist Stephanie Sukalski presented the Milk Pitcher award to Kathy Heimer of Adams. This award is presented to an individual who does an outstanding job of promoting dairy products. Heimer has managed the malt wagon at the Mower County Fair for several years. The Golden Butter Knife was presented to Crazy Jane’s restaurant, Grand Meadow.

The annual banquet is organized by the Mower County American Dairy Association Board which is chaired by Chris Sukalski of LeRoy and includes: vice-chair Rick Smith of Adams, secretary Tanya Miller of LeRoy; treasurer Gene Anderson of Waltham, and princess coordinator Tracy Smith of Adams.

Additional board directors include Randy Smith of Adams, Ed Smith of Rose Creek and Lisa Hurley of Grand Meadow.