Klobuchar, Franken announce Judicial Selection Committee for federal vacancies

Published 9:54 am Wednesday, November 16, 2016

U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken announced today the formation of a judicial selection committee to assist them in making recommendations to the president to fill two vacancies on Minnesota’s federal district court.

The vacancies were created by Judge Ann Montgomery’s and Judge Donovan Frank’s recent decisions to assume senior status.

“This group of distinguished Minnesota leaders will help us identify jurists who will continue Minnesota’s long tradition of federal judges with broad experience and an unwavering commitment to the fair and just application of the law,” Sen. Klobuchar said. “Federal judges have lifetime appointments, which is why it is critical that they are even-handed, fair-minded, and dedicated to equal justice under law. In addition to these important traits, the Committee will look for a person of integrity with a first-rate legal mind and a breadth of professional experience.”

Email newsletter signup

Franken agreed saying:

“The Senate has an important role to play in filling judicial vacancies, and I take that role very seriously. I’m proud of Judge Montgomery and Judge Frank’s years of distinguished service to Minnesota and our country. They leave some big shoes to fill, but I’m confident that the Selection Committee we are announcing today will find well-qualified Minnesotans who will apply the law fairly and equally for all. I’m looking forward to reviewing the Committee’s work and recommending nominees to the President who will serve the people of our state with honor and distinction.”

The last federal judge, Wilhelmina Wright, was recommended by Klobuchar and Franken through a committee process. She was nominated by President Obama and confirmed by the Senate earlier this year.

Those wishing to be considered for the positions of Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota should submit a letter of interest and resume between Monday, Nov. 7 and Monday, Nov. 21 to: Co-Chairs Ann Huntrods and Thomas Heffelfinger, Judicial Selection Committee, Office of Senator Amy Klobuchar, 1200 Washington Avenue South, Suite 250, Minneapolis, MN 55415.

Materials may also be e-mailed to the Committee at MNCommittee@judiciary-dem.senate.gov. References will be requested at a later date during the interview process.