Incumbents Walz, Poppe, Sparks keep seats

Published 4:45 am Wednesday, November 9, 2016

It wasn’t easy, but three DFL incumbents kept their seats in the U.S. House of Representatives, the Minnesota House of Representatives and the state Senate.

U.S. Rep. Tim Walz, DFL-Mankato, won with 169,116 votes (50.33 percent) over Jim Hagedorn’s 166,603 (49.59 percent).

Sen. Dan Sparks, DFL-Austin, defeated challenger Gene Dornink with 20,545 votes (54.76 percent) compared to 16,948 (45.17 percent).

Email newsletter signup

Rep. Jeanne Poppe, DFL-Austin, defeated Dennis Schminke 9,490 (53.62 percent) to 8,195 (46.3 percent).