AHS inducts 32 into National Honors Society

Published 10:14 am Sunday, October 30, 2016

By Sharon Alms

AHS National Honor Society Advisor

Thirty-two new members were inducted into Austin High School’s National Honor Society on Oct. 24.

Email newsletter signup

New members include Kellie Baier, Lauryn Bell, Jennifer Boyle, Michael Carroll, Elizabeth Christenson, Isaac Christopherson, Katie Condit, Teddi Eisenberg, Kelsey Feuerhak, Trinity Gray, Madison Hasley, Emily Hegna, Berghyn Hull, Courtney Kusick, Isabel Leuer, Sydney Marsh, Mitchell Mayer, Lilly Nystel, Cenneidigh Peters, Halie Retterath, Emily Sayles, Abigail Schammel, Paiton Schwab, Nicole Summerfield, Kristina Thorson, Tara Watkins, Sam Woodhouse, Vanesa Garcia, Corbin Munger, Natalie Perry, Aubrey Petersen and Paige Raymond.  These students join our second-year members Isaac Arnold, Miranda Bergemann, Trent Brown, Mikayla Brunner, Madison Klein, Gabriella Marconi, Haley Mead, Katie Mentz, Jekap Omod, Brooke Pazurek, Zeke Peters, Kaitlyn Schammel Anna Schara, Todd Weaver and Mary Willrodt.

The National Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. It serves to honor students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, character and service. Austin High School has a very active membership, performing more than 900 service hours each year in addition to demonstrating leadership qualities and maintaining a minimum 3.6 unweighted grade point average.  Congratulations to this year’s inductees! We are proud of them and look forward to their continued leadership.

Trick or Treating for Cans

National Honor Society members will be joined by members of AHS Youth Leadership in trick or treating for cans on Halloween again this year. All food donations will be delivered to Austin’s Salvation Army Food Shelf.  We hope you will consider donating a few cans for a great cause when visited by our high school students.

Veteran’s Day Activities at Austin Public Schools

Austin Public Schools would like to invite all veterans to join our students for breakfast on Friday, Nov. 11.

Following is a list of participating schools and their planned activities. Please call the school you wish to attend by Wednesday, Nov. 9, so we can provide a count to our Foodservice Department. We look forward to honoring you and your service to our country.

Banfield Elementary: Breakfast served at 7 a.m., 460-1200

Southgate Elementary: Breakfast served at 7:15 a.m., 460-1300

Neveln Elementary – Breakfast served at 7:30 am followed by program at 8:30 am, 460-1600

Sumner Elementary – No breakfast but all are welcome to program at 8 am, 460-1100

I.J. Holton Intermediate School – Breakfast served at 7:15 am and program at 8:05 am, 460-1525

Ellis Middle School – Breakfast served at 7:30 am and program at 8:00 am, 460-1500