Fines increasing for repeat distracted drivers

Published 10:22 am Monday, June 1, 2015

ST. PAUL — Law enforcement officers ticketed more than 900 people in Minnesota last month for distracted driving — most notably texting behind the wheel.

Beginning on Aug. 1st, fines for repeat offenders will get a lot tougher. The first citation for distracted driving is $50. Every ticket after that is $225.

State Patrol Lt. Tiffani Nelson said that taking your eyes off the road for 5 seconds while driving 55 mph will take you the length of a football field. Troopers say distracted driving is to blame for one in four car crashes in Minnesota.

Email newsletter signup

State records show about 3,200 drivers were issued distracted driving citations last year.