Eyes now turn to primary, general election

Published 10:51 am Wednesday, June 4, 2014

The races are on.

With the filing period for public office ending Tuesday, all eyes now turn to the Aug. 12 primary and the Nov. 4 general election. Here’s a rundown of who filed for local and state offices.


November may be a bit uneventful when it comes to Mower County races.

Email newsletter signup

Of the nine county seats up this November, three have competition.

Unless candidates kickoff write-in campaigns, many top county seats are already decided. County Attorney Kristen Nelsen, Sheriff Terese Amazi, Recorder Jill Cordes, District 3 Commissioner Jerry Reinartz, District 4 Commissioner Tony Bennett and District 5 Commissioner Mike Ankeny are all running unopposed.

Adams resident Steven Reinartz will challenge incumbent Doug Groh for the position of auditor-treasurer. John Grass Jr. and James Kellogg will run for Supervisor District 3 on the Mower County Soil and Water Conservation District Board. John Bend, John Fossey and Randy Smith will run for Supervisor District 4.


Austin will require a primary election in November, thanks to stiff competition for City Council’s Ward 2. After incumbent Roger Boughton announced he would not seek another term, David Hagen, Alex Mayfield, Marvin Repinski and Brian Staska will all run to be his replacement. In Ward 3, Precision Signs President Jon Boyer is challenging incumbent Judy Enright. Incumbent Janet Anderson is unopposed for her at-large seat, as is Jeff Austin in Ward 1. Jeanne Sheehan and Jeff Baker is also unopposed for Utility Board commissioner.

Austin Public Schools

Six candidates will vie to fill four seats on the Austin Public Schools Board, as Angie Goetz’s, Greg Larson’s, Kathy Green’s and Don Fox’s terms all expire at the end of the year.

Fox, Green and Goetz filed for re-election. Peggy Young, Lisa Haase and Rolando Ocampo also filed. Larson announced he will not seek re-election.

State and U.S.

Rep. Jeanne Poppe, DFL-Austin, will seek re-election in state District 27B. Retired Hormel Food Corp. employee Dennis Schminke is the republican challenger.

In District 27A, Republican Peggy Bennett and Independence Party candidate Thomas Keith Price will challenge incumbent Democrat Shannon Savick.

U.S. Rep. Tim Walz, DFL-Mankato, is seeking re-election and is being challenged by Byron Republican Aaron Miller, the GOP-endorsed candidate. Republican Jim Hagedorn re-entered the race after previously vowing not to run after losing the party nomination to Miller.

The race for Gov. Mark Dayton’s seat is also facing many challengers. Dayton is facing DFL challengers Bill Dahn and Leslie Davis; Republicans Jeff Anderson — the endorsed GOP candidate, Scott Honour, Marty Seifert and Kurt Zellers; and Independence candidate Hannah Nicollet.