A picturesque holiday weekend greets the races at Deer Creek

Published 9:30 am Monday, May 26, 2014

By Bill Nelson

For the Herald

Finally, a perfect day for racing action at Deer Creek Speedway with temperatures in the mid 70s, a light breeze and 138 cars filling the pit area. What a way to spend a memorial day weekend.

Email newsletter signup

Saturday was the annual A&A Electric & Underground Southern Minnesota Spring Challenge featuring the stars of the United States Modified Touring Series along with the USRA Iron Man Stock Cars, B-Mods and the WISSOTA Super Stocks and Street Stocks.

The first feature on the track was the Six Two Graphics WISSOTA Street Stocks. Shaun Mann jumped out to the early lead with Nathan Schumacher moving quickly into second. Mike Blowers, Derek Kilby and Troy Voth were three wide for third early on. The next lap Blowers powered out and took the second spot away from Schumacher. A caution on lap six bunched the field back up.

Mann led on the restart with Blowers all over him. With eight down the two were side by side for the lead at the line. Blowers took over the lead on lap nine while another caution on lap ten slowed the field as Bernie Adams slowed with a flat causing a stack up behind him. On the restart Blowers led with Mann in second. Nick Schwebach, Jason Barber and Kyle King were three wide for the fourth spot. Voth continued to sit in third and caught up to Mann as he started to pressure Blowers for the lead again.

With 13 down and as Mann and Blowers battled for the top spot, Voth moved up high and blasted around the duo to take the lead away from them. Barber saw the move and quickly followed through into second and Blowers car seemed to start slowing. The final caution came out as Barber lost the handle on his machine in turn one as he pressured Voth for the lead.

Voth led on the restart but as the white flew over the field Mann had pulled alongside. Going into three Mann drove it in hard and the car stuck completing the pass and taking home the checkers. Voth, King, Schwebach and Kory Adams rounded out the top five. Heat races were won by King, Blowers and Mann.

The final race of the night was the forty lap United States Modified Touring Series race. Brad Waits used his pole position to his advantage and jumped out front early on. Steve Wetzstein sat in second with Derek Ramirez in third. Joey Jensen and Joel Alberts battled for fourth early on.

Alberts took over the fourth spot and was running a slightly higher line than the front three. Alberts slowly gained ground as Ramirez worked alongside of Wetzstein on lap eight. On lap nine Alberts joined the battle as they were three wide for the second spot. Alberts took the spot with Ramirez hanging onto the third spot.

With 10 complete Stormy Scott moved past Jensen for the fifth spot and on the next lap took over the fourth spot as he moved past Wetzstein.

Jensen moved past Wetzstein for fifth on lap 14 while Alberts and Ramirez was now battling for second again. Alberts higher line kept his momentum up just enough to hold onto the second spot. On lap 29 the race for second heated up with Alberts, Scott and Ramirez three wide for the spot. Alberts continued to hold the spot with Scott now credited with third. With nine laps left Jensen worked past Ramirez for the fourth spot. With three laps left Scott was all over Alberts again and this time was able to make the pass for the second spot. Up front though it was all Waits as he cruised home to the win followed by Scott, Alberts, Jensen and Ramirez.

“B-Feature” races were won by Craig Thatcher and Scott. Heat race action was won by Wetzstein, Nate Wasmund, Waits, Jensen and Alberts.

Regular racing action resumes next Saturday with action in all five regular classes starting at 6 p.m with the Button Buck Speedway opening action at 3 p.m.

Dee Creek results

Six Two Graphics WISSOTA Street Stocks

Feature: Shaun Mann, Troy Voth, Kyle King, Nick Schwebach, Kory Adams, Nathan Schumacher, Karl Hewitt Jr., Mike Blowers, Jordan Becker, Bernie Adams, Dylan Nelson, Brent Holland, Jason Barber, Andrew Ausman, Noah Grinstead, Zack Elward, James Connors, JR Jones, Derek Kilby

Heat 1: King, Kilby, Hewitt JR., Becker, Holland, Ausman, Elward

Heat 2: Blowers, B. Adams, Schumacher, K. Adams, Jones, Connors

Heat 3: Mann, Grinstead, Voth, Barber, Schwebach, Nelson


Wagner Trucking WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature: Jeff Brauer, Gary Wiersgalla, Brian Fetting, Kevin Hager, Brandon Duellman, Dave Solum, Ed Sanders, Harlan Morehart, Mike Fitzpatrick, AJ Hoff, Schatney Sanders

Heat 1: Fetting, Solum, Duellman, Fitzpatrick, S. Sanders, Hoff

Heat 2: Wiersgalla, Brauer, E. Sanders, Hager, Morehart


USRA Iron Man: B-Modifieds

Feature: Cory Crapser, Cole Queensland, Alex Williamson, Jacob Bleess, Matt Jones, Dan Hovden, Jon Van Minsel, Erik Kanz, Brandon Hare, Dustin Kruse, Shaun Walski, Dustin Sorensen, Dan Wheeler, Jared Boumeester, Ben Moudry, Kylie Kath, Brady Keefe, Ryan Konkel, AJ Zvorak, Jared Timmerman, Trevor Fecht, Nick Wagner, Derek Clement, Michael Wytaske

B-Feature 1: Sorensen, Wheeler, Moudry, Fecht, Keefe, Zvorak, Blake Arndt, Andrew Bleess, Taylor Ausrud, Bill Stettner, Dagan Heim, Jackson Hale, Tanner Johnston, Mike Chisholm

B-Feature 2: Hare, Boumeester, Kath, Timmerman, Wytaske, Clement, Kadden Kath, Anthony Condit, Charlie Steinberg, Greg Erickson, Jesse Baer, Russ Quinnell, David Pitz, Kenny Boge JR.

Heat 1: Queensland, J. Bleess, Hare, Ky. Kath, A. Bleess, Wytaske, Chisholm, Steinberg

Heat 2: Williamson, Hovden, Wagner, Walski, Boge Jr., Hale, Quinnell, Johnston

Heat 3: Kanz, Konkel, Wheeler, Sorensen, Zvorak, Pitz, Fecht, Baer

Heat 4: Kruse, VanMinsel, Boumeester, Timmerman, Ka. Kath, Ausrud, Condit, Stettner

Heat 5: Jones, Crapser, Keefe, Heim, Moudry, Clement, Arndt, Erickson


USRA Iron Man Stock Car

Feature: Tom Schmitt, Jake Masters, Shawn Peter, Mitch Hovden, Kyle Falck, Kevin Donlan, Brian Webb, Andy Altenburg, Phil Wernert, Brandon Vogt, Luke Sathoff, Todd Staley, Kevin Vogt, Dillion Anderson, Jake Lampert, Brent Tweten, Lynn Panos, Steve Jackson, Derek Dettmann, Malcolm Teachout, Bill Scherf, Chris Toot, Shay Curtain, Ned Kalis

Heat 1: Falck, Tweten, Anderson, Donlan, Lampert, Peter, Teachout, B. Vogt

Heat 2: Hovden, Curtin, Sathoff, Dettmann, Jackson, Wernert, Altenburg, Kalis

Heat 3: Schmitt, Webb, Staley, Masters, Panos, Toot, Scherf, K. Vogt.

 United States Modified Touring Series

Feature: Brad Waits, Stormy Scott, Joel Alberts, Joey Jensen, Dereck Ramirez, Kelly Shryock, Keith Foss, Jason Cummins, Eric Pember, Zack VanderBeek, Steve Wetzsetein, Craig Thatcher, Brandon Davis, Nate Wasmund, Bryan Rowland, Dan Hilsabeck, Johnny Scott, Jacob Dahle, Austin Arneson, Lucas Schott, Josh Angst, Brent Larson, Jason Miller, Clayton Wagamon, Chris Oertel, Jake Gallardo

B-Feature 1: Thatcher, Angst, Davis, Larson, Hilsabeck, Schott, Joe Horgdal, Adams Hensel, Bryan Rowland, Doug Hillson, Darwin Karau, Joe Ludemann, Jake Timm, Bob Sammann

B-Feature 2: S. Scott, Cummins, J. Scott, A. Arneson, Oertel, Gallardo, Pat Graham, Parl Harelstad, Ron VerBeek, Casey Arneson, Wagamon, Don Gerritsen Jr., Greg Jensen, Alan Wagner

Heat 1: Wetzstein, Foss, Ramirez, Thatcher, Oertel, Harelstad, Gerritsen Jr., VerBeek

Heat 2: Wasmund, Shryock, S. Scott, Cummins, Hilsabeck, Horgdal, Hillson, Ludemann

Heat 3: Waits, Miller, Larson, J. Scott, Angst, Gallardo, Karau, Wagner

Heat 4: J. Jensen, Dahle, Hensel, A. Arneson, C. Arneson, Graham, Wagamon, Sammann

Heat 5: Alberts, Pember, VanderBeek, Davis, Rowland, Schott, Timm, G. Jensen

About Danielle Boss

For legal information email me at legals@albertleatribune.com or call 379-3426.
To submit any local news email me at lifestyles@albertleatribune.com

email author More by Danielle