2014 Eberhart poetry finalists announced

Published 5:09 pm Saturday, March 29, 2014

The 2014 Richard Eberhart Poetry Contest finalists have been announced. The annual Austin Public Schools poetry reading, called the Eberhart Night of Poetry, will take place at 6 p.m. Monday, April 21.

Finalists from each building are invited to read their poem during the event. School winners will be announced after all poems are shared. This year, 424 students took part in the contest.

 Woodson Kindergarten Center

Email newsletter signup

•Brendan Humphress [Grade K]

•Ulices  Paz-Herrera [Grade K]

•Reese Whiteis [Grade K]

 Banfield Elementary School

•Rachel Engelstad [Grade 3]

•Max Larson [Grade 2]

•Jordyn Thole [Grade 4]

 Neveln Elementary School

•Samantha Krueger [Grade 4]

•Olivia Mix [Grade 2]

•Shelby Reeser [Grade 4]

 Southgate Elementary School

•Katelyn Johnson [Grade 4]

•Owen Lillis [Grade 2]

•Emely Paz Gil [Grade 4]

 Sumner Elementary School

•Claire Bliese [Grade 2]

•Estrella Mensch [Grade 4]

 I.J. Holton Intermediate School

•Vicky Hansen [Grade 6]

•Rayia Omot [Grade 6]

•Marcus Tapia [Grade 6]

Ellis Middle School

•Jennifer Boyle [Grade 8]

•Jens Ourada [Grade 8]

•Kassidy Tabor [Grade 8]

Austin High School

•Nora Curtis [Grade 9]

•Megan Poczos [Grade 12]

•Taylor Sharpe [Grade 12]