Packer wrestlers miss out on state meet

Published 1:03 am Sunday, February 23, 2014

The Packers had some wrestlers place but none of them earned a state berth at the Section 1AAA meet in Mayo Civic Center in Rochester Saturday.

“It’s not the way we would’ve liked to have finished,” Austin interim head coach Jer Osgood said. “Hopefully we can build off of this year.”

Austin senior Mitch Tebay finished in third place at the section meet for the second straight year after he beat Trevor Frost of Farmington 11-2. Tebay lost to Hunter Jirele of Owatonna 3-1 in the semifinals and beat Mason Henke of Winona with a second period pin.

Email newsletter signup

Tebay never had a chance at a ‘true second’ match as Jirele lost 3-1 in overtime in the finals.

Brandon Cotter had to settle for fourth place after he was pinned by Carson Canedy of Northfield in the second period of a wrestleback match. Cotter lost his semifinal match 9-7 to Brady Nelson of Rochester Mayo and he beat Wechtuor Thuok of Owatonna 5-2 in his first wrestleback match.

Braden Eggum took fourth after he lost to Ryan Motely of Mayo 7-1 in the wrestlebacks. Eggum lost to Tyler Sorenson of Owatonna 6-2 in the semifinals and beat John Vitito of Northfield 2-1 in the wrestlebacks.

Kole Igou took fourth place at 170 after he lost to John Walz of Farmington 4-3. Igou lost 15-5 to Tyler Vogt of Owatonna in the semifinals and he pinned Ethan Carlson of Mayo in the first period of his first wrestleback match.

Eli Kaercher finished in fourth place at 220, Aiden Wilson took fifth at 120, Danny Albarran took sixth at 106, Pedro Ceballos took sixth at 182.

This is the second straight year that the Packers have not sent a wrestler to state.