Trio continues dominant season at Chateau

Published 10:22 am Monday, August 12, 2013

Todd Narveson

It was a picture-perfect day for kids free night at the speedway. Three drivers continued their dominant seasons, while four more scored their first wins of the year. There were also some good prize giveaways from this week’s sponsors Rolling Green Fencing, Midwest Repairables and Power 96 Radio.

The Y-Waste Removal Hornets had five cars in attendance and it was a wild affair for the lead. Ralph Hanks and Phillip West exchanged bumps and the lead until they came to the white flag Hanks turned West around and got charged for a caution.

Email newsletter signup

The cars got lined up for a green, white, checkered finish but some of the drivers thought the race was over and exited the speedway and that included the lead car of West. Race officials gave everyone the benefit of the doubt and West held on for his first win in his second outing.

Jordan Everson drove Keith Weber’s car to the early lead in the Misgen Auto Parts Pure Stocks. Everson looked strong with Matt Brooks in second as the leader closed in on Katie Elward in an attempt to put her a lap down. Everson had trouble trying to pass and Brooks reeled him in very quickly.

Brooks stole the lead on lap eight, survived a late race caution and a heavy challenge from Cole Lonergan. Lonergan gave it a pretty good shot, but Brooks would win his first of the season. Brady Krohnberg finished in third with Stacy Krohnberg fourth and Jason Newkirk was fifth.

A field of 20 L&D Ag USRA B-Mods took the green for their 15-lap feature. It would not go the full distance however and numerous yellow flags would cut five laps off the race. It took the fifth attempt to get the first green flag lap in as the pack of cars had a very tough time of it.

Dan Wheeler would come off of row two to dominate the race which ended up going 10-laps with another green, white, checkered finish. Cody Gardner came home in second with Josh Mattick third. Terry Kohnert ran a fine race to finish fourth and A.J. Zvorak would be awarded fifth. After the race fifth place finisher Jerry Young and Kylie Kath were disqualified for post-race unsportsmanlike conduct.

Derek Kilby used the pole position to lead the Albert Lea Steel WISSOTA Street Stock main. Jason Barber got to second while Mike Bloweers, Kory Adams and Brent Holland were three wide for third. Barber shot past Kilby for the lead on lap 2 as Tony Shaner broke and brought out a caution.

Blowers wasted no time as he drove to second and then blew by Barber for the lead. Nathan Schumacher then connected with Barber and they went for a spin. Schumacher went to the back and Barber was still second. Blowers drove away from the pack, but one last yellow came out to set up a green, white, checkered finish.

It was no problem for Blowers as he scooted to his ninth win at Lansing and 13th overall. Barber finished second and Kory Adams came back to third after an early flat tire. Noah Grinstead ran fourth and Kilby would round out the top five.

The point race in the Farm Boy BBQ WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds appears it will come down to the final night of racing. Jason Born, Robbie Franklin and Greg Pfeifer Jr. are at the top and once again they were the main combatants in the 15-lap feature.

Franklin stuck his car in three wide with leader Luke Hainka and Pfeifer Jr. They split Hainka with Franklin out front. Don Schaefer slipped past Hainka for third and brought Born to fourth. Born slipped past Schaefer for third before a yellow came out to slow the race.

The green came back out and Born continued his drive to the front. He got past Pfeifer Jr. for second on lap eight and then sought after Franklin. Franklin ran the top shelf and Born was down on the bottom. They had a good race on laps nine and ten, side-by-side for the lead.

Born slipped past on lap 10 and drove off to his fifth win of the season. Pfeifer Jr. passed Franklin for second on lap 12, but Born was long gone at that point. Schaefer would ride home fourth and Jesse Hernandez was fifth. Born now leads Franklin by eight points and Pfeifer Jr. by 10-markers in the championship chase.

Travis Shipman passed Ryan Goergen on lap four in the Power 96/KQAQ 970AM IMCA Stock Cars and would score his seventh win of the season. Shipman did have to fight off Goergen towards the end of the race and he managed to fend him off for the victory.

Front row starters Damon Haslip and Jason Cummins both turned down the chance at the Brew Pub Pizza Front Row Challenge, so the bonus will rise to $1,600 next week. Cummins blew off the outside of row one and dominated the 25-lap French’s Repair and Fabrication USRA Modifieds.

Haslip and Todd Scharkey went at it tooth and nail for quite a few laps before Scharkey took over. Cummins was way out front by then in the race that went without a single caution. It was Cummins first win of the season, as Scharkey would finish second. Brandon Davis raced from 10th to third with Jacob Dahle and Haslip in the top five.

The Northern Vintage cars were on hand this week and legendary Chateau Raceway veteran John “Sonny” Van Wilgen won the Stock Car portion much to the delight of the fans. Dennis Olson won the Super Modified feature race.

Next Friday is the AMSOIL Race Of Champions qualifier night for the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds and Street Stocks. Those feature winners will be eligible for that race being held on September 13 at the Speedway Motors WISSOTA 100 in Huron, South Dakota.


USRA Modified

Feature — Jason Cummins, Todd Scharkey, Brandon Davis, Jacob Dahle, Damon Haslip, Joe Horgdal, Jason Schlangen, Parker Brumm, Greg Jensen, Darwyn Karau, Tyler Clark, Doug Hillson, Jeremy Misgen, Joe Wernecke, Joel Alberts

First Heat — Davis, Haslip, Cummins, Schlangen, Brumm, Karau, Hillson

Second Heat — Dahle, Alberts, Scharkey, Horgdal, Clark, Wernecke, Misgen, Jensen

IMCA Stock Car

Feature — Travis Shipman, Ryan Goergen, Chris Adams, Brandon Vogt, Kevin Vogt

Heat — Adams, Shipman, K. Vogt, Goergen, B. Vogt

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Feature — Jason Born, Greg Pfeifer Jr., Robbie Franklin, Don Schaefer, Jesse Hernandez, Beau Lammers, Jayme Hiller, Darryl Hainka, Tyler Peterson, Luke Hainka, Joe Burroughs

First Heat — Born, Franklin, Pfeifer Jr., Schaefer, D. Hainka, Burroughs

Second Heat — Hernandez, Lammers, Hiller, L. Hainka, Peterson

WISSOTA Street Stock

Feature — Mike Blowers, Jason Barber, Kory Adams, Noah Grinstead, Derek Kilby, Kyle King, Brent Holland, Nick Roemhildt, Nathan Schumacher, Tony Shaner

First Heat — Shaner, Barber, Adams, Schumacher, King

Second Heat — Blowers, Kilby, Grinstead, Holland, Roemhildt


Feature — Dan Wheeler, Cody Gardner, Josh Mattick, Terry Kohnert, A.J. Zvorak, Scott Demmer, Adam Ackerman, Chad Dugan, Mike Yeager, Kadden Kath, Mark Wytaske, Tanner Johnston, Rick Utley, Justin McMahan, Max Anderson, Taylor Ausrud, Taylor Ovrebo, Jesse Baer, Michael Wytaske, John Warrington, Jaiden Bastyr, Jerry Young, Kylie Kath

First Heat — Young, Kylie Kath, Kohnert, Ackerman, Dugan, Mattick, Ovrebo, Bastyr

Second Heat — Zvorak, Demmer, Anderson, M. Wytaske, Baer, Yeager, Johnston, Utley

Third Heat — Gardner, Wheeler, Kadden Kath, McMahan, Ausrud, M. Wytaske, Warrington

Pure Stock

Feature — Matt Brooks, Cole Lonergan, Brady Krohnberg, Stacy Krohnberg, Jason Newkirk, Kyle Nicoll, Katie Elward, Anna Brouwers, Jim Briggs, Jordan Everson, Adam Godeke

First Heat — Godeke, Everson, Brouwers, Newkirk, Elward, Nicoll

Second Heat — B. Krohnberg, S. Krohnberg, Brooks, Lonergan, Briggs


Feature — Phillip West, Ralph Hanks, Bobby Blowers, Chas Moe, Jeremy Wenzel