Packer Classic Golf tournament comes down to a tie-breaker

Published 10:37 pm Tuesday, July 17, 2012

The “Packer Classic” for the Austin Public Education Foundation golf tournament drew 120 golfers to Austin Country Club and the tournament was decided with a three-team tie-breaker.

With three teams of four golfers tied for first with a a 15 under par score of 57, the winner was decided on a 25-yard chip-shot to see which golfer could come the closest to the pin.

Scott Goergen scored the closest chip when he edged out Ben Meyer and Golf Professional Michael Hasley, who was filling as a sub for a team whose players who had to leave right after play.

Email newsletter signup

Goergen’s winning team also included Kelly Wadding, Gary Ray and Tim Duren.

Ben Meyer’s team included Greg Meyer, Chad Thomas and Clark Cipra. The other team in the tie-breaker included Joe Allen, Tony Regner, Matt Ball and Dan DeBoest.