Austin, Southland and Hayfield to compete in Pacesetter basketball tourney

Published 10:39 pm Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Minnesota’s top four high school teams in each class have been invited to play in the 21st Annual Pacesetter “Sweet Sixteen” Basketball Championship at St. Ben’s in St. Cloud (St. Joseph) Saturday and Sunday, August 4-5. The Sweet Sixteen is unique in that it features teams from all four classes competing for one over-all state championship.

The top four teams from each class as projected by Minnesota Basketball News have been invited to comprise the field for both boys and girls. Most of the top four teams in each class will be playing. One team from each class has been placed into each group of four teams in the 16-team bracket.

The boys’ bracket will feature Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa vs. Hayfield, Blake vs. Edina, Rochester Lourdes vs. Osseo, Faribault BA vs. Grand Rapids, and Litchfield vs. Apple Valley at 10:00 a.m., and Waconia vs. Southland, Heritage Christian vs. Hopkins, and Fairmont vs. Austin at 11:20 a.m.

Email newsletter signup

The girls’ Sweet Sixteen will feature Bloomington Kennedy vs. Win-E-Mac and Providence Academy vs. Chaska at 11:20 a.m., Mt. Iron-Buhl vs. Foley, Crookston vs. Minnetonka, Eastview vs. Fergus Falls, Isle vs. Lakeville North, and Minneota vs. Mankato East at 12:40 p.m., and Hopkins vs. Pelican Rapids at 2:00 p.m.

The boys’ Sweet Sixteen championship game will be held in Claire Lynch gym at St. Ben’s at 2:20 p.m. Sunday, August 5. The girls’ championship game will tip off at 5:00 p.m. in Claire Lynch gym. Games are open to the public.