Murray files to seek 2nd term

Published 10:17 am Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Current Minnesota State Representative and small business owner Rep. Rich Murray, R-Albert Lea, filed for re-election Monday at the Freeborn County courthouse.

“It has been an honor and privilege to serve the residents of District 27A for the past two years,” Murray said in a news release. “I have enjoyed getting to know new people, re-acquainting myself with people I’ve met over the years, and listening to them to gain knowledge about the issues important to them.”

Murray will run against DFL candidate Shannon Savick and William Wagner of the Independence Party for Minnesota Representative seat 27A.

Email newsletter signup

“When I ran for office, I emphasized the need to reform government at all levels,” Murray said. “I am proud to say that we have started the process of empowering our communities for success. As I always emphasize, ‘the time is now for sensible government’. I am proud to have used my real world experience in making our State a better place to live and do business.”

During his first term, Murray introduced numerous pieces. He was a co-author of a bill shifting control of school trust lands from the Minnesota DNR to an advisory committee to maximize revenue for schools, and succeeded in increasing funding for local schools. He fought against numerous funding disparities between greater Minnesota and the metro area.

Murray was the vice-chair of the Government Operations and Elections Committee and was a member of Jobs and Economic Development Finance, State Government Finance, and Transportation Policy and Finance Committees.

Murray said he ran two years ago to help solve state budget problems and to help create a better business environment so jobs can be created by local businesses.

“There is nothing that will solve a budget problem or help ease a recession more than job creation,” he said.

Murray is the President and owner of ISC Financial Advisors in Albert Lea and has been a resident of Albert Lea for more than 25 years. He was elected in 2010, defeating DFL incumbent Robin Brown.

Two other local legislators, Rep. Jeanne Poppe and Sen. Dan Sparks, both DFL-Austin, still run unopposed for re-election to their seats as of 9 a.m. Tuesday. The filing period ends at 5 p.m. today.