Unopposed incumbents retain board seats in BP

Published 9:26 am Wednesday, November 9, 2011

BLOOMING PRAIRIE — The Blooming Prairie school board will not have any new faces for the next two years.

Although official results won’t be announced until Wednesday, school board director Kathi Peterson will be elected to a third four-year term while Jenny Thurnau and Jonathan Sunde will be elected to second terms. No one challenged the incumbents.

Peterson said the Blooming Prairie school board has been busy. As with every school board in Minnesota, the Blooming Prairie school board has had to deal with fewer dollars coming from the State of Minnesota. Last year, the state, which was dealing with budget concerns, decided to only send 50 percent of state funds to each school. The remaining 50 percent should be sent at a later date.

Email newsletter signup