Albert Lea tops Austin wrestlers

Published 10:08 pm Thursday, February 10, 2011

Austin's Alex Amrich grapples with Albert Lea's Spencer Carstens at 130 pounds Thursday night in Ove Berven Gym. - Eric Johnson/

The Austin wrestling team lost to Albert Lea 57-9 on senior night in Ove Berven Gym Thursday.

The Packers picked up three wins against an Albert Lea team that won the Big Nine this year.

“I was really pleased the way they all competed,” Austin head coach Bill Kinney said. “The last part of January we’ve got kids who need to get to get over the hump and start beating the best kids in their bracket. We’re inching closer and we competed better with (Albert Lea) than some of the other teams in the conference.”

Email newsletter signup

Austin senior Alex Amrich picked up a dramatic win at 130 pounds over Spencer Carstens. The match was scoreless going into the final minute when Amrich nearly escaped twice. With seven seconds left, he finally made his move to get a reversal and picked up the win.

“I tried to get what I could get from him,” Amrich said. “I was stood up right away and he was pushing me out, so I figured I’d get his hand and switch it and it worked.”

Amrich was pleased to win his last match in Ove Berven.

“I’m so excited right now to get a win. I had no idea who he was, I just thought about my match and what I was going to do,” he said. “I’m really proud to be a part of this team. I love everybody on it.”

Thomas Herrera picked up a 3-2 win at 215 pounds and Erick Power won 6-4 at 119 pounds for Austin.

Austin’s Michael Gaines almost pinned Caleb Kolodge in the first period, but ended up being pinned in the second period.


103: Dakota Wangsness (AL) 9-2 dec. over Devon Felten (A)

112: Garrett Wangsness (AL) pinned Brennen Russell (A) (3:39)

119: Erick Power (A) 6-4 dec. over Lucas Hansen

125: Devin Nelson (AL) 8-1 dec. over Brandon Cotter (A)

130: Alex Amrich (A) 2-0 dec. Spencer Carstens (AL)

135: Tristan Westerlund (AL) pinned Thao Doan (A) (1:01)

140: Peter Bergland (AL) 4-2 dec. over Logan Finnegan

145: Caleb Kolodge (AL) pinned Michael Gaines (A) (2:23)

152: Trey Hable (AL) won by forfeit

160: Dylan Anderson (AL) pinned Mitch Tebay (A) (5:03)

171: Dustin Samudio (AL) won by forfeit

189: Conner Kortan (AL) pinned Joe Williamson (A) (1:31)

215: Thomas Herrera (A) 3-2 dec. over Caleb Gaudian (AL)

285: Alex Nielsen (AL) won by forfeit