Two Packer wrestlers take first at Fillmore

Published 5:33 pm Sunday, December 19, 2010

Austin had two wrestlers take first place as the Packers took fourth out of 11 teams in the Fillmore Central Invite Saturday.

Devon Felten took first at 103 pounds by going 3-0 and Brennen Russell took first at 112 pounds by going 3-0 as Austin finished with a team score of 110 points.

“This was our best outing of the season so far,” Austin head coach Bill Kinney said. “I knew coming into the season that this team would be a work in progress. We have been patient with the kids and have emphasized fundamental basic technique in practice.”

Email newsletter signup

Felten picked up two first period pins against the two top seeded wrestlers in the meet, including one over Dylan Siem of P/E/M, who is ranked No. 2 in class ‘AA.’ His other win was a 7-4 decision over Hank Frederichs of Chatfield in the opening round. Felten, who had never won a tournament before and was seeded fifth, pinned Blake Olson of Grand Meadow/LeRoy/Ostrander/Kingsland in the finals.

Russell also picked up his first tournament title as he won with a pin, and he won two decisions. He edged out Jordan Getschmann of P/E/M 11-9 in the final.

“Brennen made a big splash with his first appearance in a varsity tournament this year,” Kinney said. “He has been working his way back down to the 112 pound weight class, and up to this point he had been stuck behind Erick Power at 119 lbs. I think having to wait to get back into the line-up made him a little hungrier to compete. He was very aggressive in all of his matches this week, scoring takedowns right off of the whistle in three of his four matches.”

Thomas Herrera took second at heavyweight for Austin as he was pinned by Darin Wingert of P/E/M, 10 seconds into the second period. Wingert is ranked No. 3 in Class ‘AA.’

Austin had a few other place-winners as Dylan Diekmann (135) took third, Erick Power (119) and Alex Amrich (125) took fifth. Dylan Reinartz (140), Eloy Morgado (171), Christian Buttshaw (189), and Joe Williamson (215) all took sixth.