Mower County to receive federal flood funds

Published 7:56 am Thursday, October 14, 2010

MINNEAPOLIS — The federal government has declared 21 counties in southern Minnesota disaster areas — including Mower County.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says federal funds are available to local and state government and some nonprofit agencies in the area struck by severe storms and flooding starting Sept. 22.

Preliminary estimates peg flood damage at $64 million, including nearly $45 million to public infrastructure. More than 600 homes were damaged or destroyed.

Email newsletter signup

The aid is available for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The counties include Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Mower, Murray, Olmsted, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan and Winona.