Gov. Pawlenty requests disaster funds for seven Minn. counties

Published 2:20 pm Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Gov. Tim Pawlenty requested the US Small Business Administration (SBA) issue a Disaster Declaration for Minnesota’s seven counties that were hit by severe storms and tornadoes in June.

In a letter sent to the SBA, Gov. Pawlenty requested funds for Faribault, Freeborn, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Polk, Steele and Wadena counties. In the letter, Gov. Pawlenty said each county qualifies for the emergency loan program because the SBA damage threshold of at least 25 homes and business with 40 percent or more uninsured losses has been met.

Earlier this month, President Barack Obama declared the seven counties disaster areas, making them eligible for federal funding.