Falcons edge out Packer wrestlers in team section tourney

Published 11:26 pm Thursday, February 18, 2010

Faribault knocked the Austin wrestling team out of the Section 1AAA team tournament with a 42-27 win over the Packers in Ove Berven Gym Thursday.

Due to some injuries, the Packers (12-12 overall) had to wrestle four of its wrestlers at a weight above their normal level.

“We rolled the dice to fill at least one of the holes,” Austin head coach Bill Kinney said. “The bottom line is Faribault out-hustled us, especially down on the mat. We needed to wrestle at a higher level to win tonight and I tip my hat off to Faribault.”

Faribault (12-9 overall) won three of the first five matches and two of those wins came with pins. The Falcons also picked up two forfeits, although Austin’s Thomas Herrera could’ve wrestled at 275 if the match were still up for grabs.

“The kids at the top of our lineup are freshman and it’s getting to be the grind part of the season,” Kinney said. “All those injuries take an emotional toll on the team. I don’t know that the coaching staff slept real well this week and I’m not sure the wrestlers slept real well this week.”

Dylan Diekman battled out a tough 12-10 win at 135 pounds for Austin. He led 7-1, but saw Faribault’s James Dennis pull to within 11-10 before getting a late escape for the win.

At 145 pounds, Austin’s Howie Underwood dominated throughout and he finished the effort off with a pin with 1:08 left in the third period.

The Packers will now focus on the individual Section 1AAA tournament, which takes place next Friday and Saturday in Mayo Civic Center.

Before the match, Underwood was honored for his 100th career win. He is the 11th Austin wrestler to reach that milestone.


103: Drew Chapek (A) 10-6 dec. over Trevor Morris (F)

112: Brandon Peters (F) pinned Devon Felten (F) (2:41)

119: Marcus Riggle (F) pinned Brennen Russell (A) (2:29)

125: Erick Power (A) pinned Tyler Broughton (F) (:37)

130: Josh Palmer (F) 3-2 dec. over Alex Amrich (A)

135: Dylan Diekmann (A) 12-10 dec. over James Dennis (F)

140: Matt Purfeerst (F) 6-3 dec. over Lucas Akkerman (A)

145: Howie Underwood (A) pinned Dalton Chmelik (F)

152: Nick Knott (F) pinned Michael Bednar (A) (4:52)

160: Kevin Palacios (F) won by forfeit

171: Mat Becker (F) pinned Jerrad Ryks (A) (1:57)

189: Mike Hirsch (A) pinned Alex Miller (F) (1:07)

215: Brett Kraemer (A) 8-4 dec. over Caleb Becker (F)

285: Cole Wilson (F) won by forfeit