Poets honored

Published 10:09 am Thursday, May 14, 2009

Seven young poets at Austin Public Schools have been recognized with Richard Eberhart Poetry Prizes.

Teacher Amanda Bremner announced the winners during the Austin School Board meeting Monday night.

The winners include: Kelsey Witiak, Woodson Kindergarten; Ellyn Vrieze Olson, grade 1, Southgate Elementary; Ethan Berke, grade 4, Neveln Elementary; Jennifer Bogle, grade 5, Banfield Elementary; Jaiden Bastyr, grade 5, Sumner Elementary; Stephanie Justice, grade 8, Ellis Middle School; and Matthew Krofta, grade 12, Austin High School.

Email newsletter signup

Krofta read his winning poem “Mutiny” during the meeting. The winners received a certificate and prize check.

The Austin Public Education Foundation’s Richard Eberhart Poetry Prizes is named for Richard Eberhart, a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, who was born in 1904 in Austin and died in 2005. The contest was established by Eberhart’s family in 1994 for K-12 students in Austin.