Many exhibits at beef show

Published 10:06 am Thursday, April 23, 2009

The 2009 Midwest Junior Spring Classic beef show attracted record numbers in its brief history last weekend.

According to Heidi Allen, the show’s publicist, 192 head of cattle were exhibited at the 2009 MJSC show held last weekend at the Mower County fairgrounds in Austin.

In its first installment in 2008, 125 head of cattle were exhibited.

Email newsletter signup

Also, the number of youth exhibitors, who participated in the weekend of activities, including the “Boot Camp” training, grew from 100 to 150.

The MJSC offers show-ring experience to young exhibitors to help prepare them for future competition.

The 2009 MJSC results were:

Champion Angus Heifer: Lyndsie Kaehler, St. Charles; Reserve Champion Angus Heifer: Wyatt Harguth, St. Charles.

Champion Charolais Heifer: Sydney Zehnder, Stanchfield;

Reserve Champion Charolais: Samantha Krone, Lester Prairie.

Champion Hereford Heifer: Jason May, Randolph; Reserve Champion Hereford Heifer: Tyler Krebs, Okoboji, IA.

Champion Limousin Heifer: Megan Witt, Mabel; Reserve Champion Limousin Heifer: Abe Hauge, Winona.

Champion Shorthorn Heifer: Mariah Doehling, Altura; Reserve Champion Shorthorn Heifer: Theresa Claeys, Winnebago.

Champion Shorthorn Plus Heifer: Clint Harguth, St. Charles; Reserve Champion Shorthorn Plus Heifer: Spence Pierson, Watertown.

Champion Simmental Heifer: Collin Grass, LeRoy; Reserve Champion Simmental Heifer: Hunter Aggen, Harmony.

Champion Foundation Simmental Heifer: Hunter Aggen, Harmony; Reserve Champion Foundation Simmental Heifer: Luke Grass, LeRoy.

Champion AOB (All other breeds) Heifer: Tara Thorson, Glenville; Reserve Champion AOB (All other breeds) Heifer: Matt Purfeerst, Faribault.

Champion Commercial Heifer: Matt Purfeerst, Faribault; Reserve Champion Commercial Heifer: Seth Kaehler, St. Charles.

Supreme Champion Female: Tara Thorson, Glenville; Reserve Champion Female: Collin Grass, LeRoy; Champion Female Drawing: Clint Harguth, St. Charles.

Champion Dairy Steer: Grady Ruble, Albert Lea; Reserve Champion Dairy Steer: Riley Ruble, Albert Lea.

Champion Market Heifer: Lauren Lindeland, Minnesota Lake; Reserve Champion Market Heifer: Brady Neel, Alden.

Champion Angus Steer: Ellin Stolp, Oronoco.

Champion Charolais Steer: Josh Brown, Peterson; Reserve Champion Charolais Steer: Matt Dinse, Owatonna.

Champion Hereford Steer: Travis Williamson, Garrretson, SD; Reserve Champion Hereford Steer: Colin Lyndorff, Monticello.

Champion Limousin Steer: Megan Witt, Mabel; Reserve Champion Limousin Steer: Casper Witt, Mabel.

Champion Shorthorn Steer: Mary Reis, Hastings; Reserve Champion Shorthorn Steer: Andy Church, Hastings.

Champion Shorthorn Plus Steer: Hayfield.

Champion Simmental Steer: Spencer Franke, Dover; Reserve Champion Simmental Steer: Travis Selness, Mabel.

Champion AOB (All other breeds) Steer: Nichole Fuller, Bricelyn; Reserve Champion AOB (all other breeds) steer: Zach Davis, Hayfield.

Champion Crossbred Steer: Amanda Baumgarn, Round Lake; Reserve Champion Crossbred Steer: Kailey Davis, Glenville.

Supreme Champion Market Animal: Nichole Fuller, Bricelyn; Reserve Champion Market Animal: Lauren Lindeland, Minnesota Lake.

Champion Senior Showperson: Lyndsie Kaehler, St. Charles;

Reserve Champion Senior Showperson: Seth Kaehler, St. Charles.

Champion Intermediate Showperson: Luke Grass, LeRoy;

Reserve Champion Intermediate Showperson: Tyler Pierson, Watertown.

Champion Junior Showperson: Caroline Mayer, Peterson; Reserve Champion Junior Showperson: Jackson Neil, Northfield.

The success of the second annual MJSC to attract so many more cattle and exhibitors convinced the show’s organizers to return to Austin for another.

According to Allen, the MJSC will return to Austin for its third installment April 17 and 18, 2010.

The Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau helped promote the event again this year.