Musicians chosen for All-State

Published 1:53 pm Saturday, February 7, 2009

Several music students will represent Austin High School at the 2009 Minnesota Music Educations Association convention as part of the All-State Orchestra, Band and Choir ensembles Feb. 13-14.

The musicians were selected from hundreds who auditioned all over Minnesota this previous year.

Rehearsals will be held at the Minneapolis Convention Center and several concerts presented Saturday, Feb. 14.

Email newsletter signup

The students chosen include:

All-State Choir: Mary Bissen, Leah Lumley and Jacob Larson

9-10 Honors Choir: David Koser

All-State Orchestra: Kelsey Fleming, Victoria Torkelson, Ben Bachmeier, Amanda Mattick and Garth Strobel

All-State Band: Hanna Middlebrook and Ingrid Baudler

According to Brian Johnson, AHS vocal music instructor, more than 100 AHS music students participated in region/state contests Jan. 31 at Lakeville South High School.

“Students performed independently prepared pieces for judges and were awarded excellent and superior ratings based on eight criteria,” Johnson said.

Seven entries were selected as “Best-of-Site” performances.  Those students include: Kelsey Fleming, harp solo and vocal solo; David Koser, bassoon solo and vocal solo; Victoria Torkelson, violin solo; Ryan Meyer and Mary Bissen, vocal duet; and Kelsey Fleming, Nicole Shatek, Kristine Iverson and Danielle Jondal, SSA ensemble.

Austin students receiving the highest award (superior) include: Cathy Anderson, McKenzie Anderson, Olivia Blake, Jon Koser, Eliza Anderson, Ashley Arhart, Cami Longueville, Breanna Wehner, Brianna Gabrielson, Molly Bissen, Ben Bachmeier, Emily Bachmeier, Taylor Pedersen, Jacob Bentley, Jordan Bentley, Caleb Bentley, Nate Riley, Breonna Bergstrom, Gabe Franta, Tim Erickson, Mary Ann Duren, Jeff Davis, Kira Potach, Jacob Whalen, Chris Folken, Mikayla Eskens, Vivi Gallegos, Nick Hillberg, Sigin Ojullu, Samantha Johnson, Breanna Stegenga, Tyler Slack, James Kestner, Michael King, Leah Lumley, Ryan Larson, Brandon Legried, Katrina Carolan, Rebecca Wichman, Gunnar Peters, Jenna Baker, Ashley Smith, Katy Pfeifer, Abby Thompson, April Winter, Hanna Middlebrook, Ingrid Baudler, Lauren Jensen, Julia Wagner, Alex Knoll,  Amanda Mattick, Martha McDermott, Julia Dudley, Alyssa Schroeder, Britta Andersen, Laura Merten, Kayla VandeZande, Michelle Johannsen, Shelby Oldenkamp, Jacob Crosby, Braun Oldenkamp and Max Johannsen.

Austin students receiving the next highest award (excellent) include: Lyndsey Buttshaw, Emily Thompson, Stephany Brehmer, Heather Case, Emily Hagan, Garrison Meyer, Lauren Nelson, Alex Perrin, Brooke Joblinske, Hannah Lumley, Natalie Swan, Daman Zimbelman, Emily Beckel, Ciara Marshall, Lila Johnson, David Erdahl, Neil Erdahl, Gabe Ramirez-Hernandez, Luke Bennett, Jack Miller, Erika Smith, Molly Maschka and Alejandra Fabian.