Chateau#039;s season almost here

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 26, 2003

The 2003 Chateau Raceway Car Show was held last weekend at the Oak Park Mall. An excellent group of cars took part in the show representing 10 different classes.

Track and show representatives once again this year allowed any driver in any class to display their cars. Along with the track classes of Wissota Midwest Modified, Wissota Street Stock, Pure Stock, Mini Sprint, Mod Lite (Dwarf), Open Modifieds and the old Vintage models, there were also cars on hand representing Wissota Super Stock, Wissota Late Model and a North Iowa Class that is a comparable to the Pure Stocks Lansing runs.

Business-sponsored fan voting awarded trophies to the top two vote-getters with Chateau Raceway kicking in a plaque for third place. There was also a Chateau Raceway sponsored trophy awarded for an overall champion.

Email newsletter signup

Results are listed below.

The regular season of racing will kick off Friday, April 11, at 7:30 p.m.

The track will hold a test and tune session Sunday before the opener, April

6, from 1 to 5 p.m.

Several big shows are on the schedule again for this season. The Mike Guttormson Memorial will run Friday, May 23. This year’s Independence Day

fireworks display and race will be held on Thursday, July 3.

The Northern Vintage Stock Cars will make two appearances this season — May 2 and July 18. Mini Sprints will run every other week. Their first night will be April 18.

The season championship will be August 29.

Open Modified -- Matt Stark, Austin; Mike Mehling, Grand Meadow; Jimmy Davis, Janesville.

Wissota Midwest Modified -- Greg Pfeifer Jr., Austin; Jeremy Harmer, Austin; Eric Condit, Austin.

Wissota Street Stocks -- Steve Eischens, Taopi; Jason Gabrielson, Austin;

Jeff and Scott Nelson, Owatonna.

Chateau Pure Stocks -- Josh Lowe, Austin; Greg Mattick, Lyle; Dave Stevens, Albert Lea.

Mini Sprint -- Ken Boeding, New Hampton; Todd Harpster, Mounds View; Pat Halsey, Rochester.

Mod Lites -- Roni Van Riper, Glenville; Jeremy Anderson, Faribault.

Best of Show -- Ryan Weber, Ellendale.