Masching keeps streak on mat alive

Published 12:00 am Thursday, February 6, 2003

The Hayfield wrestling team crowned one champion in finishing eighth at the Hiawatha Valley League tournament Saturday.

Shane Masching moved his season record to 29-0 with three victories to win the 125-pound weight class. He was the only Hayfield wrestler to reach Saturday’s final round.

George Evjen and Tom Brown — were the Vikings’ only other semifinalists. Evjen went on to place fourth at 145 and Brown finished fifth at 215.

Email newsletter signup

Two-time defending Section 1AA champion Stewartville won the team title with close competition coming from Pine Island despite no Panther champions. Stewartville and Lake City (fourth) each crowned three individual champions.

Masching moved quickly through all three matches, cutting each of them short by at least 1:30. His first-round pin came in 3:39 of Kasson-Mantorville’s Justin Harris, and his technical fall of Cannon Falls’ Alec Winter went 4:24. In the finals, Masching dispatched Triton’s Brent Franko in 1:29.

Evjen went 2-2 to take fourth at 145, as did Brad Evans at 171. Evjen (19-13) won an overtime 8-6 decision in his pigtail match before losing a major decision to Stewartville’s eventual champ, Cory Schmitz. Evjen pinned his consolation semifinals opponent in 4:15 but loss a 7-0 decision in the match for third.

Brown posted two wins by pin, coming in 1:16 and 3:32, en route to fifth place at 215.

Danny West (18-12) started Hayfield’s top-six finishers with a fifth-place finish at 112. Sam Rud, at 152 pounds, was Hayfield’s only other placewinner, taking sixth.

Hayfield hosts Blooming Prairie and LeCenter in a triangular Tuesday night at 5 p.m.

In other area wrestling action Tuesday, Southland hosts Rushford-Peterson and Alden-Conger for a triangular at 5 p.m.


Team standings


1. Stewartville 195.5, 2. Pine Island 184.5, 3. Kasson-Mantorville 161.5, 4. Lake City 146.5, 5. Cannon Falls 141, 6. Triton 103.5, 7. Zumbrota-Mazeppa 81, 8. Hayfield 77.5, 9. Byron 69, 10. Kenyon-Wanamingo 60