Archived Story

Education briefs: Grand Meadow students participate in Knowledge Bowl

Published 5:01pm Saturday, January 26, 2013

Grand Meadow was one of 53 teams from 18 area districts to participate in 2012-13 Junior High Knowledge Bowl Jan. 8-9 at Rochester Community and Technical College.

Teams competed in Round Robin competitions in October, November and December. Each team then competed in the sub-regional competitions in January and the top twelve teams from each tier advanced to Regional. The competitions consist of 1 written round (60 questions) and 4 oral rounds (45 questions/round).


Zonta Club taking applications for scholarship

Applications for the 2013 Non-Traditional College Student Scholarship are now available from the Zonta Club of Austin. Contact Mary Jo Follmuth by email at austinmnzonta@hotmail.com or phone at 507-433-5536 (evening) or 507-437-8773 (daytime).

The Non-Traditional College Student Scholarship for Women is given out to women who have been out of school for a minimum of five years and are continuing their post-secondary education. The applicant must be a resident of Mower County or a student of Riverland College.

Applications are due to Zonta Club of Austin, 1411 First Ave. SW by Feb. 15, 2013.


Dean’s list

—Two area residents, Megan Kinney of Adams and Garrett Erstad of Austin, made the fall semester dean’s list at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, Minn.

—The following students from Austin made the fall semester dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-Madison: Jenna Baker, School of Education; Jonathan Koser, College of Letters and Science; BriAnn Mayer, School of Nursing; Hanna Middlebrook, School of Nursing;

—Steven Rizzi, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences; Jessica Webber, College of Engineering. Also on the dean’s list was Michael Goeldi, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, from Racine.

—The North Dakota State College of Science named dental hygiene student Brandi Schammel to its fall semester 2012 president’s honor list.

—Austin’s Megan Ellis qualified for the fall term dean’s list at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa.

—The University of Minnesota Duluth announced five area residents for its dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester. From Austin were Anna J. Anderson, integr elem and spec ed; Abigail M. Leif, Unified Early Childhood Studies; Callie C Burton, finance and accounting; Gage R. Morgan, civil engineering. From adams was Lindsey Smith, accounting.

—The University of Wisconsin-River Falls fall semester dean’s list included four Austin residents: Samantha Serratore, marketing communications; Lindsey Halsey, pre-major; Eric Lenway, health and human performance; Taylor Hackensmith, majoring in animal science.

—Marquette University named Austin native Alexander Mueller, a business administration major, to its fall 2012 dean’s list.



Three Austin residents graduated from University of Wisconsin-Stout in December: Katherine Elizabeth Anderson, bachelor of science in hotel restaurant and tourism and minor in business administration; Andrew Stephen Burton, bachelor of science in business administration; and Daniel Keith Justice, bachelor of science in engineering technology.


Sign in to Comment | Need help commenting? Click here

Editor's Picks