• 64°

Best Bets: Living a self-quarantine culture

With the closure of schools and certain businesses, cancellation of many events and the urging of local health officials to stay home unless necessary to combat the spread of COVID-19, one runs the risk of going stir-crazy trying to find ways to entertain the family.

As many settle into self-quarantining mode, there are still opportunities to get some culture without leaving the house.

Travel + Leisure and CNN have compiled a list of world-class museums, cultural sites and art galleries that have been closed due to coronavirus and are offering free virtual tours:

• British Museum in London, Great Britain, https://britishmuseum.withgoogle.com/

• Guggenheim Museum in New York, New York, https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/solomon-r-guggenheim-museum-interior-streetview/

• The J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, California, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-j-paul-getty-museum?hl=en

• Johannesburg Art Gallery in Johannesburg, South Africa, https://artsandculture.google.com/exhibit/the-evidence-of-things-not-seen-photography-and-resistance-%C2%A0/oAJScEI-O01qKQ

• Musée d’Orsay in Paris, France, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/musee-dorsay-paris?hl=en

• Museu de Arte de São Paulo in São Paulo, Brazil, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/masp?hl=en

• National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-gallery-of-art-washington-dc?hl=en

• National Museum of Anthropology in Mexico City, https://artsandculture.google.com/asset/the-national-museum-of-anthropology-mexico-city-ziko-van-dijk-wikimedia-commons/bAGSHRdlzSRcdQ?hl=en

• National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Seoul, South Korea, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-museum-of-modern-and-contemporary-art-korea?hl=en

• National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C., https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-portrait-gallery

• Palace of Versailles in Versailles, France, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/palace-of-versailles

• Pergamon Museum in Berlin, Germany, https://artsandculture.google.com/entity/pergamon/m05tcm?hl=en

• The Prambanan Temple in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, https://artsandculture.google.com/exhibit/prambanan-architectural-magnificence/eQIyCjd9u0u8Lg

•Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/rijksmuseum/iwH5aYGoPwSf7g?hl=en&sv_lng=4.885283712508563&sv_lat=52.35984312584405&sv_h=311.1699875145569&sv_p=-5.924133903625474&sv_pid=fOVcUXQW2wpRf33iUmxEfg&sv_z=1

• The Sistine Chapel in Vatican City, http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/en/collezioni/musei/cappella-sistina.html

• Smithsonian Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C., https://naturalhistory.si.edu/visit/virtual-tour/current-exhibits

• Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/van-gogh-museum?hl=en

• Uffizi Gallery in Florence, Italy, https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/uffizi-gallery?hl=en

Schedule of Events

NOTE: DUE TO THE CORONAVIRUS SITUATION, EVENTS SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

Saturday

• Kids’ Studio (Clay) – Lotus Lily Pad, 10:30 a.m. to noon at the Austin ArtWorks Center. With Laura Brandenburg. Cost $5 per child; geared towards kids ages 5 – 10. To sign up or for more information, go to www.austinareaarts.org or call 507-434-0934.