Several more file for city, county seats

Published 7:40 am Friday, May 25, 2018

Several more candidates have filed for city and county offices since filings opened on May 22. Filings close on June 5.

In city elections, First Ward Councilman Jeff Austin has filed for the at-large seat now held by Janet Anderson. She has not filed for election.

Earlier in the week,  Austin Human Rights Commission Chairman Jason Baskin announced that he was filing to run for the Austin City Council Ward 2 seat to succeed the retiring Dave Hagen.

Email newsletter signup

Jeanne F. Sheehan has applied for utility board.

On the county side, Mower County detective Steve Sandvik has filed his candidacy for sheriff. Sheriff Therese Amazi announced earlier this spring that she would not run for another term.

In addition to Jeff Baldus filing for the District Four commissioner seat, current commissioner Tony Bennett has filed for another term in that district.

In District Three, incumbent Jerry Reinartz has filed, as has Duane Felt and Loren Bellrichard.

Three have filed for the auditor/treasurer seat. In addition to incumbent Steve Reinartz, Scott Felten and Donna Welsh have filed for the post.

Fifth District Commissioner Mike Ankeny has filed for another term; and County Attorney Kristen Nelsen will also seek another term. Both, to date, are the lone candidates.

There are three supervisor seats open on the five-member Mower Soil and Water Conservation District.

Current board members Micah Peterson (District 2); James Kellogg (District 3); and Randy Smith (District 4) have seats up for election. Kellogg and Smith have four-year terms expiring at the year’s end; Peterson was appointed by the Mower SWCD board in January 2017 to a special two-year term due to no one filing for election in fall 2016.

Due to Peterson’s special appointment, the District 2 representative elected this fall will serve a two-year term. District 2 covers the townships of Pleasant Valley, Racine, Grand Meadow and Frankford in Mower County’s northeast section.

District 3 and 4 representatives will serve four-year terms. District 3 includes Clayton, Bennington, Lodi and LeRoy townships. District 4 covers Windom, Marshall, Lyle, Nevada and Adams townships. The only one to file so far is James Kellogg of Taopi, for District 3.

Those interested in filing for a Mower SWCD supervisor seat, or any county position, should file at the Mower County Auditor’s office. All filings for city posts should be at the city clerk’s office.