Our Opinion: Contact your elected officials

Published 10:36 am Thursday, February 9, 2017

We urge you to contact your senators, representatives, council members and other area leaders about any issues you feel need addressing in 2017. Cut this list out and post it on the refrigerator.

Here is their contact information for postal mail, telephone and email:


—Sen. Dan Sparks, DFL, District 27: 651-296-9248, sen.dan.sparks@senate.mn,

Email newsletter signup

—Rep. Jeanne Poppe, DFL, District 27B: 651-296-4193, rep.jeanne.poppe@house.mn

—Rep. Peggy Bennett, GOP, District 27A: 651-296-8216 or rep.peggy.bennett@house.mn

—Gov. Mark Dayton, DFL: 651-201-3400, mark.dayton@state.mn.us


—Al Franken, DFL: 202-224-5641,


309 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C., 20510

—Amy Klobuchar, DFL: 202-224-3244


302 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C., 20510

Austin City Council

—Tom Stiehm, Mayor: 507-437-9965, mayor@ci.austin.mn.us

—Janet Anderson, at-large: 507-219-0680, janetanderson2840@gmail.com

—Laura Helle, 1st Ward: 507-438-3988, laura@thehelles.com

—Dave Hagen, 2nd Ward: 507-438-1442, dhagen@ksmq.org

—Paul Fischer, 3rd Ward: 507-438-3155, paultfischer@yahoo.com

—Jeff Austin, 1st Ward, 507-438-7730, bgyglfr6@hotmail.com

—Steve King, 2nd Ward, 507-438-0599, stevek@co.mower.mn.us

—Judy Enright, 3rd Ward, 507-440-3326, judy.enright@yahoo.com

Austin School Board

—Angie Goetz, chair: 507-437-4881, angie.goetz@austin.k12.mn.us

—Peggy Young, vice-chair: 507-437-4972, peggy.young@austin.k12.mn.us

—Don Leathers, treasurer: 507-433-1119, don.leathers@austin.k12.mn.us

—Richard Lees, clerk: 507-433-2606, dick.lees@austin.k12.mn.us

—Carolyn Dube, director: 612-272-8653, carolyn.dube@austin.k12.mn.us

—Don Fox, director: 507-433-3016, don.fox@austin.k12.mn.us

—Kathy Green, director: 507-437-8667, kathy.green@austin.k12.mn.us

Mower County Board of Commissioners

—Tim Gabrielson, 1st District: 507-433-2598, tim.gabrielson@co.mower.mn.us

—Polly Glynn, 2nd District, vice-chair: 507-269-4498, pglynn@hmtel.com

—Jerry Reinartz, 3rd District: 507-219-2205, jerry.reinartz@hotmail.com

—Tony Bennett, 4th District: 507-440-1203, tony@old218.com

—Mike Ankeny, 5th District, chair: 507-433-4157, mlankeny@ankenysminimart.com