Ask a Trooper: Know the state’s tint regulations
Published 10:31 am Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Question: I moved to Minnesota from Arizona about a year ago and I have a car that has tinted windows. What is the window tint law in Minnesota?
Answer: Even if your previous state allowed tinted windows, you will now need to comply with Minnesota law:
No vehicle can have any tint to the front windshield. Passenger cars are limited to 50 percent on all side and rear windows.
Email newsletter signup
Pickups, vans, and SUV’s are limited to 50 percent on the front side windows.
Pickups, vans, and SUV’s are not limited on the rear side and rear windows. (They can be less than 50 percent behind the front seat).
Squad cars, limousines, and vehicles used to transport human remains by a funeral establishment are not limited on the side and rear windows.
No person shall sell, offer for sale, or use any motor vehicle with windows or windshields that have window tint on them.
In my opinion, window tint obstructs your vision at night and during poor weather conditions. It is also a safety concern for law enforcement at night. Illegally tinted windows make it nearly impossible to see in the vehicle while conducting a traffic stop.
If you need to have window tint removed, you can check with a body or detailing shop or you can do it yourself. Look on the internet for advice and suggestions.
If you have any questions concerning traffic related laws or issues in Minnesota send your questions to Sgt. Troy Christianson – Minnesota State Patrol at 2900 48th Street NW, Rochester MN 55901-5848.