Packer swimmers advance to ‘true team’ state meet for second straight year

Published 11:02 am Sunday, January 19, 2014

The Austin boys swimming and diving team took fifth at the nine-team ‘true team’ Section 1A meet, but they earned an at-large bid to the ‘true team’ Class ‘A’ state meet for the second straight year in Bud Higgins Pool Saturday.

The Packers, who swam at ‘true team’ state for the first time in school history last year, tallied a team score of 1,128 points and St. Thomas won the meet with 1,781 points.

Eighth grader Isaac Christopherson took fifth in the 200-yard freestyle for Austin, senior Isaac Christopherson took third in the 50-yard freestyle, senior Alec Anderson took second in diving, sophomore Seth Clasen took fifth in the 100-yard butterfly and sophomore Craig Heimark took second in the 100-yard freestyle.

Email newsletter signup

The Packer 200-yard freestyle relay team of Heimark, Seth Clasen, Sawyer Myers and Ian Christopherson took third and the 400-yard freestyle relay team of Heimark, Isaac Christopherson, Myers and Ian Christopherson took third.

Austin will compete at the ‘true team’ state meet at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center Jan. 25 at 1 p.m.


200-medley relay: Ben Walker, Andrew Baker, Seth Clasen, Ben Carroll (13th, 1:52.14)

200-freestyle: Isaac Christopherson (fifth, 1:55.01); Craig Heimark (eighth, 1:56.31)

200-individual medley: Sawyer Myers (12th, 2:12.90); Ben Carroll (13th, 2:13.96)

50-freestyle: Ian Christopherson (third, 22.44); Seth Clasen (14th, 23.78)

Diving: Alec Anderson (second, 380.70); Noah Kinney (20th, 176.9)

100-butterfly: Seth Clasen (fifth, 57.84); Ben Walker (ninth, 58.65); Ben Carroll (12th, 58.82)

100-freestyle: Craig Heimark (second, 50.00); Ian Christopherson (fifth, 50.81)

500-freestyle: Isaac Christopherson (seventh, 5:14.21); Sawyer Myers (eighth,5:17.43)

200-freestyle relay: Craig Heimark, Seth Clasen, Sawyer Myers, Ian Christopherson (third, 1:32.49); Matthew Knoll, Zach Newman, Ben Carroll, Isaac Christopherson (ninth, 1:37.70)

100-backstroke: Ben Walker (12th, 1:03.65)

100-breaststroke: Matthew Knoll (19th, 1:13.98)

400-freestyle relay: Craig Heimark, Isaac Christopherson, Sawyer Myers, Ian Christopherson (third, 3:25.08)