Filing period for city, county offices closes Tuesday

Published 6:11 am Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Let the campaign season begin.

Tuesday marks the end of the election filing period in Mower County, meaning that after today, candidates for local office will be finalized. Some of their fates will be decided on Aug. 10, when the state holds its primary, while others will battle all the way to November’s general election.

In all, seven city seats and nine county seats are up this season. Below is a recap of those positions, as well as a look at those in the races as of press time Tuesday morning:

City offices

The city’s top office has also drawn the most competition.

Four people, including incumbent Tom Stiehm, have filed for mayor. Stiehm, a retired Austin police detective, is seeking a third term.

Joining him in the race are Marian Clennon, currently a Ward 3 councilwoman, retired printer Gordon Anderson and unemployed resident Zeke Dahl.

As of press time, one council spot up for election has garnered only one candidate: the Ward 1 post currently held by Jeff Austin, who filed for reelection May 19.

In Ward 2, Roger Boughton, a former vice president at Riverland Community College and current member of the local Fire Civil Service Commission, is challenging Dick Pacholl, the council’s most senior member — he’s been on the board for 20 of the last 28 years.

In Ward 3, Judy Enright, currently the physical plant director at RCC, and Jeff Bednar, a member of the city planning comission, are challenging incumbent John Martin.

In the at-large race, Michael Weinmann, the senior computer operator at Hormel Foods, is challenging incumbent Janet Anderson.

The city is also looking for two new members to serve on the utilities board. To date, only current member Jeanne Sheehan has filed.

County offices

Commissioner District 3 has drawn the most competition, as Loren Bellrichard, John Bramwell and Art Nelson have filed to run against incumbent David Hillier.

Tony Bennett is challenging incumbent Dick Lang in District 4. Mike Ankeny, who was first elected in a special election in February, is currently unchallenged in District 5.

District 5 isn’t the only seat currenly uncontested seat. As of press time, no challengeres had filed against Auditor-Treasurer Doug Groh and County Attorney Kristen Nelsen.

Chief Deputy Record Jill Cordes is currently the only candidate running to replace Sue Davis, whi is retiring as recorder.

In the race for sheriff, Sgt. Jeff Ellis, former handler of the police canine Tazer, is challenging incumbent Terese Amazi.

John Grass Jr. and Bill Sweetser are running District 3 supervisor on the on the Soil and Water Conservation District board. William Lonergan is the only candidate currently running in District 4.

State and Federal

Independent candidate Steven Wilson and Republican Randy Demmer are running against incumbent Democrat Tim Walz in congressional District 1.

Jennifer Gumbel, an attorney who resides in LeRoy, is challenging Rep. Jeanne Poppe in House seat 27B. Rep. Robin Brown is currently running uncontested for her seat in District 27A.

Austin School Board member Kathy Green is challenging Dan Sparks in state senate District 27.