AHS names Artist of the Year finalists

Published 6:49 am Friday, March 19, 2010

The Austin High School art department has named the finalists for the Artist of the Year Award.

They are: Edgar Garcia, Estrella Gutierrez, Beth Hamilton, Whitney Heiny, Rene Lazaro, Ryan Rasell, Liz Richardson, Breanna Stegenga and Nicole Schabert.

The nine students were selected from a field of 16 senior applicants who displayed their portfolios in Christgau Hall. All applicants put their portfolios on display in Christgau Hall. The portfolios were judged on the students’ breadth of work, choice of style and theme, presentation, written expression, artistic voice and leadership abilities.

The finalists will now create a three-minute video of their artistic voices. The videos will be shown and the award conveyed at the art assembly on May 26.

The art club continues to solicit funds for the show and the scholarships.

For more information, contact Bruce Loeschen at 433-0400.