Commissioners freeze salaries for elected county employees

Published 6:24 am Wednesday, December 16, 2009

On the same day it approved the 2010 budget, the Mower County Board of Commissioners took another step to reduce expenditures for next year.

The commissioners approved a salary freeze for elected county employees for 2010 on Tuesday.

Each year, the commissioners examine each elected employee to see if duties and responsibilities have changed over the year. They then recommend a salary increase or decrease.

The commissioners approved a zero percent increase for all the elected county employees, and they won’t receive a step increase. This would include the county attorney, the county recorder, the county auditor-treasurer, the sheriff and the county commissioners.

“The non-union department heads and supervisors were also scheduled at a salary freeze for 2010,” Commissioned David Hillier said. “This is a similar process looking at budget issues more importantly than looking at performance on the job.”

The commissioners voted to freeze wage increases for about 50 non-union employees on Nov. 10. The board is currently negotiating a salary freeze with the five county unions.

Salaries of elected officials

County Attorney Kristen Nelsen

Grade 18, step 7: $89,093.68.

Recorder Sue Davis

Grade 12, step 10: $68,039.30

Mower County Sheriff Terese Amazi

Grade 16, step 10: $87,635.81

Auditor-Treasurer Doug Groh

Grade 13, step 8: $68,181.15

County Commissioners

$24,926 with a $40 per diem for designated committees.