Packers send four wrestlers to section quarterfinals

Published 12:47 am Saturday, February 28, 2009

The Austin wrestling team had four wrestlers advance to the quarterfinals at the Section 1AAA wrestling meet Friday at Rochester Civic Center.

Those advancing to the quarterfinals are: Howie Underwood at 145, Bryce Zahradnik at 152,Ethan Eggum at 160, and Michael Hirsch at 189.

The following Packers lost two matches on Friday and had their seasons end: Jacob Finnegan at 103, Thao Doan at 130, Zach Sauer at 135, Lucas Akkerman at 140, Brett Kraemer at 215.

Email newsletter signup


103: Brandon Peters (Faribault) pinned Jacob Finnegan (A) (1:22); Will Krageschmidt (Winona) 13-0 dec. over Finnegan

112: Jake Hanson (Mayo) 8-4 dec. over Colin Sheehan (A); Sheehan pinned Jake Allen (Century) (:35)

119: Luke Schwalbe (Northfield) 15-3 dec. over Erick Power (A); Power pinned Alex Zabel (Faribault) (1:43)

125: Adam Woitalla (Northfield) 15-0 dec. over Dylan Diekmann (A); Diekmann pinned Peter Seitz (Faribault) (2:44)

130: Jacob Bosshart (JM) pinned Thao Doan (A) (1:15); Jake Mandelko (Century) pinned Doan (:57)

135: Cater Kortan (Albert Lea) 11-2 dec. over Zach Sauer (A); Matt Purfeerst (Faribault) 10-2 dec. over Sauer

140: Lucas Akkerman (A) 9-7 OT dec. over Ryan Williamson (JM); Tristan Faust (Northfield) pinned Akkerman (1:38); Justin Duruji (O) pinned Akkerman (3:03)

145: Howie Underwood (A) pinned Dalton Chmelik (Faribault) (3:50)

152: Bryce Zahradnik (A) 5-1 dec. over Ryan Galvan (JM)

160: Ethan Eggum (A) 10-1 dec. over Alex Evan (JM)

171: Bobbe Dulitz (A) pinned Aaron Burt (Mayo) (2:26); Taylor Giordano (JM) 19-5 dec. over Dulitz; Dulitz pinned Brian Russell (Century) (2:58)

189: Michael Hirsch (A) pinned Steve Smith (Winona) (:05)

215: Cody Johnson (Owatonna) 8-0 dec. over Brett Kraemer (A); Cole Swanson (JM) pinned Kraemer (4:00)

Hwt: Cole Wilson (Faribault) pinned Thomas Herrera (A) (1:49); Herrera pinned Brandon Slocum (2:51)