Council members get keys to the city

Published 10:39 am Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Three Austin City Council members cast their last votes during a regular meeting Monday night.

Terms for Pete Christopherson, council member at-large, Scott Pacholl, 2nd Ward, and Norm Hecimovich, 3rd Ward, expire at the end of the year.

Mayor Tom Stiehm presented keys to the city to the three officials and thanked them for their service. Christopherson serviced eight years and Hecimovich and Pacholl each served four.

Email newsletter signup

Pacholl was defeated in the Nov. 4 election by Steve King; the other two exiting council members did not seek re-election. Brian McAlister, 1st Ward, ran unopposed.

Other incoming board members include Marion Clennon, who was elected to Hecimovich’s seat, and Janet Anderson, who defeated council member Jeff Austin for council member at-large. Austin, however, has two years remaining in his 1st Ward position.

The first regular city council meeting of 2009 is at 5:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 5 in the City Council Chambers.